Scare Your Fears

Thursday, April 9, 2015

 God has claimed you His own!

Psalm 23:1, 4 – The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want. Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil; for You are with me; Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me.

In many instances possessions reflect that there is an owner or possessor. Our dogs, cats, horses and birds reflect the care, or lack thereof, we’ve given them. Fearful animals are sometimes the result of confidence not instilled by the owner through his or her husbandry. In other words, the way we are cared for shape our relationship with fear. When our care is competent, resourceful and nurturing, we grow to reflect the same and are seldom fearful people. In the same way, if our care is incompetent, un-resourceful and debilitating, in most instances we will grow to be fearful and un-resourceful people.

Perhaps this concept can be seen in David’s statements in Psalm 23; “The Lord is my Shepherd” and then his later declaration, “I will fear no evil.” Whose he was gave shape to who he was. Because he belonged to God or the Lord, fearfulness was in check.

So who do you belong to? If you answer you are the Lord’s, then fear has no stake in your life. Meditate on that fact; “If I belong to the Lord, fear has no stake in my life.”

 

2 thoughts on “Scare Your Fears

  1. Michael

    Amen. Why should we fear any evil when we have our Lord and Savior, Jesus? As Jesus said, “no one will snatch them away from His hand.” Knowing that I am saved through Jesus takes away fear.

    Like

Comments are closed.