Overcoming Life’s Challenges

by Pastor Alton Trimble

Daily Word for Sunday, April 26, 2015

Coping

While waiting impatiently to pick up my car from being serviced, I read a sign that said, “Life is what happens to you after you have made all your plans.”

I really needed to hear that at that moment because my plans for the day did not include the auto shop’s delay.

After seeing the sign and embracing its truth, I relaxed and allowed life to unfold. I got my vehicle, carried on with my day and was none the worse for it. Life just happened to me and I couldn’t avoid it.

My real struggle that day was not with circumstances in front of me, but with experiences and presuppositions from my past.  I realized that to overcome my challenges in the present, I had to resolve negative thinking and feelings I had from the past.

The word ‘overcome’ means to get the better of; to surmount difficulties; to overwhelm; to gain the superiority; to conquer.

Prior to my ‘sign reading’ experience, that definition describes exactly what was happening to me. My circumstances had gotten the better of me. I was surmounted and overwhelmed. My circumstances had the high ground, and I was being conquered.

There was nothing I could do about the present; the situation was beyond my control. What could I do?

  • Master my impatience.
  • Conquer my fears (imagined and real).
  • Refuse to enlarge a simple setback to the point of allowing it to overwhelm me.
  • Take back the high ground in my life at that moment.
  • Conquer everything in me that demanded a knee-jerk reaction to my situation.

Maybe you are where I was at that auto shop and you need to allow life to happen.

Read 1 John 5:4-5 [For every child of God defeats this evil world, and we achieve this victory through our faith. And who can win this battle against the world? Only those who believe that Jesus is the Son of God] and allow our loving Heavenly Father to enable you to overcome your past so you can overcome in the present.

Photo credit: anandc1 – FlickrCC License 2.0