Live in God’s Blessings and Benefits

by Pastor Alton Trimble

Daily Word for Friday, May 15, 2015

Trust in the Lord

Living in the blessings and benefits of God requires us to understand His role and our own role in our lives. Another way of saying this is, understanding who He is must coexist with understanding who I am not.

When David says in Psalm 23, “The Lord is my Shepherd,” he lifts up these two ideas.

Note the following implications:

As my Shepherd:
• He is in control; I am not.
• He is Lord and Master; I am not.
• He is the Supplier of all my needs; I am not.
• He is the good, great and chief Shepherd; I am not.
• He is in charge of my care and keeping; I am not.
• He is the Executor of my life and death; I am not.

My care and keeping is corollary to the resources of my Caretaker. Understanding who I am not enables me to embrace who He is and positions me to live in His blessings and benefits.

Say out loud with the above in mind,The Lord is my Shepherd.”

Photo credit: Art4TheGlryOfGod by Sharon – FlickrCC License 2.0

3 thoughts on “Live in God’s Blessings and Benefits

  1. Michael

    Amen PT. This is a great Word. I have to remind myself of this fact time to time. However; I am afraid that some Christians, and most people in the secular world will have a tough time admitting the Lord is our caretaker. We live in an age of individualism and “bootstrap” beliefs. But I do know it’s impossible to pull yourself up by your bootstraps because you will trip every time.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Simone Dilisser

    Psalm 23 is one of my favorite scriptures. In fact, I repeat it every morning as I commute to work and it helps to put things in perspective and place God at the helm of everything.
    Thank you for expanding my understanding of our Shepherd’s role in our lives… He is and I am not. Timely word!!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.