God Provides Immunity to Life’s Poisons

by Pastor Alton Trimble

Daily Word for Monday, May 18, 2015

Immunity, Acts 28

I want you to take a moment and recall all the challenges that God has brought you through to date.

Every hurdle He has gotten you across, every failure He has enabled you to overcome. All the times you thought “this could be it for me” and yet it wasn’t because of Him. The losses you thought you wouldn’t survive. The disappointment you thought you would never get over. The life storms of all types He has brought you safely through.

Remember the times you said goodbye to family and friends just before the anesthesiologist put you under in preparation for surgery and then waking up in the recovery room to the voices of those same family members on the other side of surgery.

God brought you through!

Look at your scars now; some healed from surgery, some healed from accidents of various types but all healed. What an amazing God! Think about all the circumstances, beyond your control, that could have contributed to your demise but God didn’t allow them to.

On an occasion of a personal storm in my wife’s and my own life, I asked God to give me something that would aid her in moving beyond the medical situation she encountered early in our marriage. I found my answer in Acts chapters 27 and 28.

In Acts 28:1-6, Paul had an experience (after suffering greatly in Chapter 27) that was framed by these words God gave me for my wife. The words were, “In life, we are subject to the bite of the enemy but God gives us immunity to the poison.”

Paul was bitten by the viper but shook it off in the fire. I find that instructive as to how God would have us deal with challenges in our lives. We have to just shake them into the fire of the history we have with God in overcoming adversities.

Right now, take your present concerns to God and shake them off; adding another trophy on your shelf of God’s marvelous grace.

3 thoughts on “God Provides Immunity to Life’s Poisons

  1. Michael

    Thank you for sharing and Amen. I am so thankful for God’s grace and provisions in my life. I am thankful for being able to shake off my own medical issues and use them as a testimony to bear witness to God and to help others.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. LiLi

    Good word PT. I am forever grateful for God bringing me through my own health issues. While under anesthesia, bleeding out, Doctors not sure what to do next. I know that it was only God Who kept me and brought me through. Seeing my long top to bottom scar reminds me how much God loves me and is mindful of me.
    God Bless

    Liked by 2 people

Comments are closed.