Embrace the Grace

by Pastor Alton Trimble

Daily Word for Friday, May 22, 2015

God

In life, by God’s grace, we find that which stabilizes. Stability is a concept that must be embraced. Paul stated his goal was to “lay hold of that for which Christ Jesus has also laid hold of me.” [Philippians 3:12]

On another occasion, Jesus responding to His disciples in the midst of a crisis, directed them to take courage [Matthew 14:27 – But Jesus spoke to them at once. “Don’t be afraid,” he said. “Take courage. I am here!]. Christ was there but they had a responsibility to take or embrace that which would bring stability in that situation.

So the question becomes, what is it that we are not embracing that could bring stability in our current context?

Ask yourself these questions and then take the needed action to go to the next level in your family, profession, business or life.

1. Have I inadvertently excluded God from my plan?

2. Have I moved away from spiritual disciplines that got me where I am?

3. Am I more concerned about my critics than I am my vision?

4. Am I carrying toxic thinking into my next steps?

Take your answers to these questions to God and ask for the grace needed to make the necessary corrections.

3 thoughts on “Embrace the Grace

  1. Michael

    Amen PT! These are four very good questions to reflect on. I know that if I am trying to get to the next level in whatever, I sometimes fall into one of these four areas. Thank God for His grace and comfort.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Simone Dilisser

    As usual, another insightful and introspective daily word. As I reflect on this, I am reminded to embrace that which stabilizes me. It is so easy to get busy with life that, if I am not careful, I lose focus and grasp on what is most important; Christ at the center of my life. Great questions to ponder!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I think at different times of our lives its very possible and we do become partakers of the four points mentioned above and we become engrossed in our own agendas, we try to do things in our own strength and become victims of the reports of our haters and instead of focusing on what God says about us we listen to one of the voices in our heads which can sometimes be toxic. However aren’t we so blessed to be able to rest in the grace of God and know and understand that where our inadequacies and frailties fall short, Jesus makes the difference and through our times of uncertainty and just plain “mess ups”, God can and will use that to help us in our testimony to others as we draw them in by the sweet aroma of His grace.

    2 Corinthians 2:14 says it like this: (I like how the Message bible phrases it)

    In the Messiah, in Christ, God leads us from place to place in one perpetual victory parade. Through us, he brings knowledge of Christ. Everywhere we go, people breathe in the exquisite fragrance. -Amen

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.