You Are Loved Today

by Pastor Alton Trimble

Daily word for Monday, June 8, 2015

God

Among the many things driving the ills of our society is a need to be loved.

Much of the behavior we see in our country, on several levels, is simply people attempting to meet a legitimate need illegitimately. Our problem is the void in life that the absence of love creates will not be met by anything else; there is no substitute.

Our answer to the love question can only be resolved by coming to our loving Heavenly Father and receiving the love that He has graciously and bountifully made available to us.

It was His love that motivated the sacrifice of His Son to pay our debt according to John 3:16 [For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life].

Consider how God loves us:

1. His love for us is everlasting.

Jeremiah 31:3 – The LORD has appeared of old to me, saying: “Yes, I have loved you with an everlasting love; therefore with loving-kindness I have drawn you.

2. He loves us in spite of our faults.

Romans 8:5 – For those who live according to the flesh set their minds on the things of the flesh, but those who live according to the Spirit, the things of the Spirit.

3. Love is simply what He is.

1 John 4:7-8 – Beloved, let us love one another, for love is of God; and everyone who loves is born of God and knows God. 8 He who does not love does not know God, for God is love.

4. His love for us is a great love.

Ephesians 2:4-5 – But God, who is rich in mercy, because of His great love with which He loved us, 5 even when we were dead in trespasses, made us alive together with Christ (by grace you have been saved).

5. Because He loves us, He cares for us.

1 Peter 5:7 – …casting all your care upon Him, for He cares for you.

Clearly the Word of God expresses the love He has for us but love must be received by the object of the love.

The Bible says in Proverbs 8:17 [God speaking], “I love those who love me…” Not because we love Him first but because His love must be received.

Meditate today on the love God has for you and practice gratitude toward God for His love toward us.

5 thoughts on “You Are Loved Today

  1. One of the first scriptures I learned as a child was John 3:16. It was because of God’s love for the world or fallen man that as a young adult I had the audacity to believe that God loved me in spite of my frailties. I was convinced that He would look beyond my faults and see my needs and 20 years later I am still convinced!

    Lamentations 3:22-23
    New King James Version (NKJV)

    22 Through the Lord’s mercies we are not consumed,
    Because His compassions fail not.
    23 They are new every morning;
    Great is Your faithfulness.

    (Read this from the message bible, it will bless you)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. LiLi

    I am fully persuaded that God loves me. He shows me everyday and in every way that He is mindful of me, despite myself. No is no better feeling or greater joy. I am grateful beyond measure.

    Liked by 2 people

Comments are closed.