My God, My Protection

by Pastor Alton Trimble

Daily Word for Sunday, June 14, 2015

God

The overwhelming Divine Protection of our God is the atmosphere in which every believer can live. That is not to say that we will not be challenged in life but it does suggests that we, as children of God, can go through life’s challenges with a distinct advantage.

The Almighty God is our Father! David articulates the position we enjoy best:

1. God is mercifully responsive to those who trust Him, a refuge (comfort, relief, help and hope) and a place of protection while going through crisis.

Psalm 57:1 – Be merciful to me, O God, be merciful to me! For my soul trusts in You; and in the shadow of Your wings I will make my refuge, until these calamities have passed by.

2. God is our secret place.

Psalm 91:1 – He who dwells in the secret place of the Most High shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty.

3. God is our shade from the heat and our strength.

Isaiah 25:4 – For You have been a strength to the poor, a strength to the needy in his distress, a refuge from the storm, a shade from the heat; for the blast of the terrible ones is as a storm against the wall.

4. God is our covering.

Isaiah 51:16 – And I have put My words in your mouth; I have covered you with the shadow of My hand, that I may plant the heavens, lay the foundations of the earth, and say to Zion, ‘You are My people.’

In Jonah 4:6, the Bible says that God prepared a tree for Jonah to be a shade for his head from the heat of the day and that Jonah was grateful.

I believe that God is still preparing trees for His children to shade them from the heat of life’s scorching sun.

Today, find your ‘tree’ and rest in its shade!

One thought on “My God, My Protection

  1. Michael

    Amen. In my daily prayers, I always thank God for His hedge of protection as I travel to and from work. I thank God He protects me from harm in this crazy world where people think the answer lies with their gun. Praise God for His provisions.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.