As God Helps Me, I Must Help Others

by Pastor Alton Trimble

Daily Word for Sunday, June 21, 2015

Help Others_Final

It is easy for us to become consumed with our own interests in a way that causes us to neglect our Christian humanity to others.

Might I suggest to you that helping someone in need can be helpful to you? Not only is the principle of sowing and reaping involved but God has wired us to need to contribute constructively and benefit from all the “feel-goods” that result.

The Bible is filled with encouragements toward our Christian duty to others.

Consider the following:

1. To be tilted in the direction of benevolence

Isaiah 58:7 – Is it not to share your bread with the hungry, and that you bring to your house the poor who are cast out; when you see the naked, that you cover him, and not hide yourself from your own flesh?

• You will in life need someone to lean your way.

2. To be inclined to be helpful.

Acts 20:35 – …have shown you in every way, by laboring like this, that you must support the weak. And remember the words of the Lord Jesus, that He said, ‘It is more blessed to give than to receive.

“If I can stop one heart from breaking, I shall not have lived in vain. If I can ease one life the aching or cool one’s pain or help one fainted Robin in his nest again, I shall not have lived in vain.” – Emily Dickinson

3. To be willing to bear burdens.

Romans 15:1 – We then who are strong ought to bear with the scruples of the weak, and not to please ourselves.

Galatians 6:2 – Bear one another’s burdens, and so fulfill the law of Christ.

• Compassion expressed lightens the load.

4. To be unhardened so that one can feel for the unfortunate.

Hebrews 13:3 – Bear one another’s burdens, and so fulfill the law of Christ.

I Peter 3:8 – Finally, all of you be of one mind, having compassion for one another; love as brothers, be tenderhearted, be courteous.

Today, let’s turn our attention away from ourselves and toward those God would bring to our attention and let’s do acts of Christian humanity.

Remember, always give God the glory!

One thought on “As God Helps Me, I Must Help Others

  1. Michael

    Amen to helping others.

    I am grateful and thankful everyday that God give me the strength and conviction to carry out the tasks to help others in the ministry.

    But, the biggest blessing we can give to people is to lead them to salvation. It’s something on my mind every day, with every encounter I have with people. I can’t sit in a church like GCFI and not tell people about it! Working in the valley I get frustrated that people don’t want to drive a little to come visit, but I don’t let that deter me. At the very least I help those on my job by walking with them and helping shoulder their burdens.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.