My God, My Guide

by Pastor Alton Trimble

Daily Word for Thursday, June 25, 2015

My God, My Guide 2

I take great comfort in the acknowledgement that I can depend on God’s guidance.

There are so many opportunities daily to tap into the ‘well’ of guidance provided by the Holy Spirit. It doesn’t take us very long to exhaust our resources in managing life’s issues.

The Bible says that God will lead us in pleasant paths [Psalm 23:3 – He leads me in the paths of righteousness for His name’s sake]. That suggests that our path may at times take on an unpleasant nature but, thank God, through His guidance, we can find our way back.

The Bible also says that God will guide our decision making [(Psalm 25:9 – The humble He guides in justice, and the humble He teaches His way) and (Psalm 32:8 – I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go; I will guide you with My eye)].

All you and I have to do is to humble ourselves and be open to His instruction and teaching.

God also guides us through wise Counsel; people whom He places in our lives who are mature and have the mind and counsel of God. God Himself will counsel us on life’s matters [Psalm 73:24 – You will guide me with Your counsel, and afterward receive me to glory].

The Word of God says that this will often occur by a still small voice [Isaiah 30:21 – Your ears shall hear a word behind you, saying, “This is the way, walk in it,” whenever you turn to the right hand or whenever you turn to the left].

When we need His guidance most is in the midst of uncertainty.

Thank God, Isaiah 42:16 says, “I will bring the blind by a way they did not know; I will lead them in paths they have not known. I will make darkness light before them, and crooked places straight. These things I will do for them, and not forsake them.”

When we don’t know what to do, which can be often in life, God shows us the way by His Power and Grace.

People (lawyers, doctors, consultants) of all types can give us an answer to the many questions facing us but God gives us “THE ANSWER” [John 16:13 – However, when He, the Spirit of truth, has come, He will guide you into all truth; for He will not speak on His own authority, but whatever He hears He will speak; and He will tell you things to come].

Consider, today, how God guides us and how we benefit from this awesome blessing in our lives.

Our God is our Guide!

One thought on “My God, My Guide

  1. Michael

    Amen and good message PT.

    I’ve developed a short prayer habit. This means I pray to God throughout the day for guidance and wisdom. A couple of examples, I pray when I get to my job that God grants me wisdom to make the right decisions so that I may glorify Him. I pray over the CEM lesson, that God works through me to put together the lesson and gives me wisdom on how to instruct the class.

    We have to make sure that we are still and silent to hear God give us the answer.

    These are very good Scriptures. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.