Change is Costly

by Pastor Alton Trimble

Daily Word for Wednesday, July 1, 2015

Change is Costly (2)

Among the many reasons why change in our culture or personal life is slow, is that we are often unwilling to pay the cost.

Death is the price paid for change. Death can be a metaphor inclusive of all the things we are unwilling to die to, that stunt our growth or decelerate our forward momentum.

Unlike Joshua in Joshua 1, when some are confronted with the change needed and required, a decision can be made to reject the future and live in the past.

Negative behavioral pattern can prohibit our ability to accumulate the metaphoric finances needed to pay the cost of the change required in our lives.

So how do we change?

1. Recognize that God is the only resource available to engineer sustainable change in our lives.

Ezekiel 36:26-27 – I will give you a new heart and put a new spirit within you; I will take the heart of stone out of your flesh and give you a heart of flesh. 27 I will put My Spirit within you and cause you to walk in My statutes, and you will keep My judgments and do them.

John 15:5 – I am the vine, you are the branches. He who abides in Me, and I in him, bears much fruit; for without Me you can do nothing.

2. Do what you know to do.

James 1:22 – But be doers of the word, and not hearers only, deceiving yourselves.

3. Establish spiritual and mind renewal as priority.

Romans 12:1-2 – I beseech you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, that you present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable to God, which is your reasonable service. 2 And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God.

4. Through prayer and gratitude, set the Holy Spirit as guard over your heart and mind.

Philippians 4:6-7 – Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God; 7 and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.

My friend, the Bible informs us that life is filled with seasons and that there is a time for everything.

Go to God today and ask Him to show you what season you are in. Begin to exercise these four principles in your season.

2 thoughts on “Change is Costly

  1. Michael

    Amen.
    The word from PT today is a great lesson in leadership. Point #2 is a nugget. If we do what we know to do through the uncertainty of change and trust in God (seek Him first) we will successfully navigate the tides of change.
    Recently there was a reorganization at my job. While it brought about change and uncertainty, I felt the least bit worried. Truth is it didn’t affect my daily routine or how I do my job, so I focused on doing what I know. I knew God would give me the knowledge needed to operate successfully on my job. While others were worried, my trust and energy were in God.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Logan III

    The key to Change is Teachability, can we learn in the crucible of challenge and adversity. I have learned from my Pastor’s example of Leadership to know that God Loves Me, to Believe God every step, to trust my training through Improvisation Adaptation and To live my Life as an Overcomer. In this life we have to understand that Change is inevitable so if we stay ready when you got to get ready

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.