Worship is an Expression of My Affection Toward God

by Pastor Alton Trimble

Daily Word for Sunday, July 5, 2015

Worship is an expression- Revised

Loving God with all my heart is a form of my worship to God. Mark 12:30 says, “And you shall love the LORD your God with all your heart, with all your soul, with all your mind, and with all your strength. This is the first commandment.”

It is my feeble attempt to match His passion for me. The Bible says in Exodus 34:14, “…the LORD, whose name is Jealous, is a jealous God…”

We will never be able to match the passion that God has for us but we certainly ought to try. God desires us, not the things we can do. Hosea 6:6 says, “I’d rather for you to be faithful and to know me than to offer sacrifices.”

God really does want us above the temporal things we can do or give; Romans 6:13 [And do not present your members as instruments of unrighteousness to sin, but present yourselves to God as being alive from the dead, and your members as instruments of righteousness to God] affirms that idea.

Loving God is an appropriate response to His having loved us first; I John 4:19 [We love Him because He first loved us].

When I love God I focus my attention on God. That’s what it means to “love the Lord your God with all your mind.”

God wants us to love Him thoughtfully. Our focus is on Him because He is focused on us.

Psalm 139:1-3 says, “You have looked deep into my heart, LORD, and you know all about me. 2 You know when I am resting or when I am working, and from heaven you discover my thoughts. You notice everything I do and everywhere I go.” Now that’s focusing.

Further, Colossians 3:2 lets us know where our focus needs to be [Think about what is up there, not about what is here on earth].

It is so easy to lose focus with all the distractions in our lives but let’s refocus right now on what’s really the most important relationship in our lives.

Pray this prayer with me:

“Father, forgive me for being distracted to the end that the stuff of life become my focus. Please help me to refocus and maintain focus on You. Thank you for showing me how to love You.”

2 thoughts on “Worship is an Expression of My Affection Toward God

  1. Logan III

    It is impossible to focus on more than one at the same time, the one time will be clear everything else will be blurred. If we allow the things stuff of life to keep our focus we lose our focus and quite possibly our conscious contact with God. Like the title and the lyrics in the we must “Stay Connected” by staying focused on God

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Logan III

    It is impossible to focus on more than one thing at the same time, the one thing will be clear while everything else will be blurred. If we allow the things stuff of life to keep our focus we lose our focus and quite possibly our conscious contact with God. Like the title and the lyrics in the song we must “Stay Connected” by staying focused on God.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.