We are better together: Appeal to Common Interests

by Pastor Alton Trimble

Daily Word for Thursday, July 9, 2015

Appeal to Common Interest

We really are better together. In our Daily Word this week, we are discovering how it is that we can PARTNER with God to bring people to the saving knowledge of Christ.

Utilizing the word PARTNER’ as an acronym in yesterday’s Daily Word we saw that Praying Together” is a way in which we can add momentum to a person’s journey in coming to Christ.

Today, we will discover how our Appeal to Common Interests” can help us to PARTNER with God in bringing people into His family.

The Bible says in I Corinthians 9:20-23, “…and to the Jews I became as a Jew, that I might win Jews; to those who are under the law, as under the law, that I might win those who are under the law; 21 to those who are without law, as without law (not being without law toward God, but under law toward Christ), that I might win those who are without law; 22 to the weak I became as weak, that I might win the weak. I have become all things to all men that I might by all means save some. 23 Now this I do for the gospel’s sake, that I may be partaker of it with you.”

You see, before we can share the good news of Christ, we must find common ground!

What do the people I want to share with and I have as common interests? Spend time talking with them and listening intently to identify those common interests.

People, for the most part, enjoy talking about themselves. Before we reach them, we must relate to them!

We will never be successful at reaching people for Christ if we feel that we can’t relate to them.

Ask yourself, “What common experiences, interests, needs, hurts, successes or failures do we share?” It could be that we both enjoy fishing, gardening, crocheting, kids, reading, etc.

Here is an action step: When you make your list of people you are praying for, begin your discovery on their common interests. Which of your neighbors, coworkers, relatives, etc., share the same interests or hobbies?

Remember, the first step is to PARTNER with someone; both of you will make a list of folks you are praying will come to Christ. Share your list with your PARTNER and Pray Together.

Secondly, Appeal to Common Interests; do the discovery and find out “who done it” also. What are the areas that will foster more relatability?

Friend, I believe we are tapping into the heart of God! Luke 15 tells us three times in different illustrations that God loves and is concerned about lost things.

If lost things matter to God, they must matter to us as well.

Peace and blessings!

 

 

Materials used for 40 Days of Connecting Campaign included Saddleback Resources – “40 Days of Community”

3 thoughts on “We are better together: Appeal to Common Interests

  1. Today’s word is so on point. It describes exactly how I’ve successful in leading people to church and Christ. We have to listen and create relationships with others and it becomes second nature in leading folks to the Lord. Todays word has rekindled a fire and desire in me to go and meet new people and witness. I’m on it like I want it! Thank you Lord for using Pastor Trimble today for such a great word. Blessing to all!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Michael

    Amen PT.
    when I read today’s message, I think about how isolated we’ve become. We spend our time in cars, cubicles, in our houses and as a result we don’t know how to interact with people that are different. We all have at least one thing in common we can build a relationship. We can’t be selective on who God places in our lives to witness to, so we must be prepared.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.