We are Better Together: Reaching Out in Love

by Pastor Alton Trimble

Daily Word for Friday, July 10, 2015

Reaching out in Love

As we continue gaining tools to PARTNER with God and each other to bring people into His family, Reaching Out in Love” is an indispensible tool. It really goes to our motive in reaching out.

We examine ourselves to ensure there is nothing in our motive that could negatively impact our ability to share God’s Good News.

We don’t share the Good News of Christ’s gift out of duty, pressure, guilt, or because we think we are better than others or to impress others.

The Bible says in Mark 12:31, “The second is equally important: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ No other commandment is greater than these.”

There are three reasons I can give for sharing the Good News of the Gospel with others:

1. It is the greatest news in the world ever!

2. We are so grateful to God that it was shared with us!

3. God gives us His love for other people!

The Bible says in I Thessalonians 2:8, “We loved you so much that we shared with you not only God’s Good News but our own lives, too.”

You see my friend, if you don’t do both it is not really love.

People are expecting you to reach out in judgment; we are known for what we are against. The Bible says in I Corinthians 5:12a, “It isn’t my responsibility to judge outsiders…” Never expect unbelievers to act like believers.

Let me give you another action step:

• Ask God to give you a deeper love for others.

The best way to show love is to ask your friends, coworkers or family, “Can I pray for you?”

People will seldom say, “No, don’t pray for me.” Most want prayer and are grateful. The effective way to touch people is to pray for them.

Know that as you are praying, God is smiling!

 

Materials used for 40 Days of Connecting Campaign included Saddleback Resources – “40 Days of Community”

One thought on “We are Better Together: Reaching Out in Love

  1. Michael

    Amen.
    I hadn’t looked at reaching out from this perspective before, and I am glad you shared this with us. As I work to improve my prayer life with God, I can testify to the impact of asking someone to pray together. People are truly grateful for prayer and to see that someone cares enough to take the time to pray with them.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.