We are Better Together: Expect God to Act

by Pastor Alton Trimble

Daily Word for Monday, July 13, 2015

Expect God to Act 11

God works on people’s hearts when we expect Him to do so. Matthew 9:29 says, “Then He touched their eyes and said, “Because of your faith, it will happen.” Note how their faith impacted their desired outcome.

The greatest pastor of the nineteenth century was a man named Charles Spurgeon. He was the pastor of the largest church in the world at that time in London, England.

He’d often spoken to about ten thousand people. Many people came to know Christ through his life.

One day a young man came to him and said, “Mr. Spurgeon, I don’t understand it. Whenever you talk to people about the Lord they always tend to open up their lives. They tend to accept Christ. When I talk to people about the Lord nobody’s interested. Nobody comes to Christ. What’s wrong?”

Spurgeon said, “Young man, you don’t expect people to come to Jesus Christ every time you talk about Him, do you?” He said, “of course not.” Spurgeon said, “That’s your problem.”

Few people come to Christ the first time they hear the Good News. Never give up on anyone! Never give in to discouragement!

The Bible Says in Hebrews 11:1, “Faith is the confidence that what we hope for will actually happen; it gives us assurance about things we cannot see.”

Salvation is all God’s dealing not ours.

Matthew 18:3 says, “Then he said, “I tell you the truth, unless you turn from your sins and become like little children, you will never get into the Kingdom of Heaven.” What did Christ mean by that?

1. We must love Him with childlike sincerity.

2. Trust Him with childlike faith.

3. Share Him with childlike enthusiasm.

Your action step: Think on these things!

 

 

 

Materials used for 40 Days of Connecting Campaign included Saddleback Resources – “40 Days of Community”

7 thoughts on “We are Better Together: Expect God to Act

  1. Michael A

    Amen PT.
    We have to examine ourselves when we are trying to minister salvation to people. If in doubt we should ask ourselves, “are we doing it for His glory, or our glory?”
    Through these daily words, they have affirmed to me that the most successful way to lead people to salvation is by developing a sincere relationship with them. We must be a humble vessel that God can work through. God will do the rest.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Karin

    The Daily Word messages are so inspirational. It’s a wonderful way to start my day. This. Message in particular was one that I needed. I always felt like a failure when people would not accept Christ. Now I know not to give up. Thank you Pastor Trimble, keep them coming.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Everyday I’m learning to trust God to bring the right people in my life.

    Years ago, I had heard that after losing a husband the widow will find the friends she and her spouse knew as a couple tend to disappear. It’s kind of sad to say, but that was my experience.

    After losing my beloved husband at first I didn’t notice certain people weren’t there anymore. Perhaps it was the shock and pain of my loss and I really didn’t pay much attention.

    But then one day I woke up to realize I was more alone than I knew. People had stopped visiting and calling. It was like a domino affect of several losses. The pain and brokenness in my heart was even more unbearable. I cried most days. I questioned those I thought to be friends, “why aren’t you present ‘now’ when I need you most?

    Today, five years later, I’ve come to realize my dependence on God includes trusting Him to bring people in and out of my life. I’ve come to accept my Season of Friends. The right person for each season in my life.

    More importantly, I know now my high expectations for folks to stand with me through my time of bereavement was greater than they could deliver. They too were grieving. For some, seeing me was a reminder of the loss of their friend, brother, cousin, neighbor, work colleague, high school buddy, and so on.

    In some strange way it was like they unknowingly buried me, in their minds, with my husband.

    Over time, some have reentered my life. Others have not. But I’m okay now.

    For me, it’s simplest to just trust God to bring in and out of my life the people He wants there at each phase (season) of my life. It’s better me and the other person, to not force any relationship.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sherry Joseph

    Oftentimes I have spoken to someone about Christ and gotten an uninterested response from that person; and then sometime later had that person to come back to me and share with me that what I said resonated with them and caused them to want to know more, and (or) to pick up a Bible or literature. There has also been times where I have prayed for a person and God has allowed me to see the transformation of their lives. We do our part and God does the rest; for some plant, others water, and God gives the increase. I am always reminded of how I was before God transformed my life, and if He could do it for me I know He can do it for anyone as there is nothing too hard for Him, and no case too tough. I am a witness and therefore I expect that He will move on the hearts of others.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. This is really powerful ESPECIALLY when praying for your own family members and it “looks like” all hell has broken loose and there is no hope! We must have faith and continue to stand on God’s word. Every day when I talk to the LORD it’s a conversation with my Father, I come with childlike enthusiasm with a spirit of expectancy believing that it’s already done. This is the zeal and faith we need to share in our everyday living and expression of our relationship with God.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. LiLi

    I have been reaching out to a young man at work, for 6 years, talking to him about Christ, church, taking every opportunity to share the goodness of God with him. I have invited him to church, bible study, and the men living connected huddles. He has yet to come. He now has a 2 week old baby girl and has asked me to go with him on the weekend to pick out baby girl clothes and supplies he can take to the mother. I will take this opportunity to spend time with him again and plant a seed. I continue to pray for him believing God will touch his heart and bring him to salvation. I just have to stay encouraged.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.