Will Your Offering Be Respected or Rejected?

By Pastor Alton Trimble

Daily Word for Thursday, July 16, 2015

Acceptance or Rejection

Lining up with God’s principles brings His favor in our lives. Genesis 4:3-5 says, “And in the process of time it came to pass that Cain brought an offering of the fruit of the ground to the LORD. 4 Abel also brought of the firstborn of his flock and of their fat. And the LORD respected Abel and his offering, 5 but He did not respect Cain and his offering. And Cain was very angry, and his countenance fell.”

Note that all of this happened in the process of time, according to Genesis 4:3 [And in the process of time it came to pass that Cain brought an offering of the fruit of the ground to the LORD]. It suggests to us that the events that unfolded were not a knee-jerk response but something that developed over time.

Where we find our hearts today is the result of what has developed over a period of time. God looks at our hearts as it relates to our giving and all offers are not offerings.

The Bible says in Genesis 4:4-5 that, “The Lord respected Abel and his offering but He [God] did not respect Cain and his offering.” 10% doesn’t necessarily mean tithe to God. It is a matter of priority of our hearts to God.

If we were to pay everything else and then tithe if there is anything left, our priority is clearly not God first.

So what do we do if we find ourselves in a Cain-position as opposed to Abel?

• We ask God to forgive us and receive His mercy and grace.

• We reprioritize God in our lives making Him our first consideration in every detail of our lives.

• We prepare ourselves for His favor to begin flowing in our lives and in the lives of those connected to us.

Peace and blessings!

4 thoughts on “Will Your Offering Be Respected or Rejected?

  1. Lord, I pray for a clean heart so that the intentions of my giving are pure. I ask you to reveal areas of failure in my life where I did not put you first. Please forgive me.

    Teach me to prioritize you in every area of my life. And, as I go through my day remind me to remain focused and not become distracted.

    Please direct my life, so that I give focused attention to you.

    I ask for your favor, grace and mercy today.
    Bless my giving and provide me with opportunities to be a blessing to others this day and everyday that follows.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Sherry Joseph

    We can not out-give God. Our blessings from tithing comes in many forms and not always monetary. God pours us out a window of blessings in so many other ways, and I am learning that even a Tither can go through financial crisis, But He will use those circumstances to grow us in financial matters and areas of faith.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. We can never out give God in Giving. When we tithe, God rebukes the devour for our sakes. God gives us everything we have. No matter what it looks like if we are walking by faith and not by sight and trusting Him that provides all our needs are met by Christ Jesus. Faith is the substance of things hoped for and unseen. I have seen God bring resources known and unknown and it is on time. I will praise God in all seasons as He is God and never fails.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Michael

    I pray that God will shed light on any areas where I do not put Him first, so that I can receive forgiveness and make that correction.
    I am thankful that God is constantly molding me and changing me as I spend time seeking Him and becoming more of what He wants me to be.
    I offer the first fruits and the fruits of thanksgiving for all His blessings.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.