God-First Lifestyle

By Pastor Alton Trimble

Daily Word for Friday, July 17, 2015

God First Lifestyle

Tithing is a principle we live, not a law we keep. It is not about our money, it’s about our relationship with God.

What would you pay to have confidence that God has your back? It is a principle we see throughout the Word of God. It challenges our concept of stewardship.

Most of us don’t think in terms of stewardship, we think in terms of ownership. The difference in thought is striking. Owners think more in terms of what they want; stewards think in terms of what the owner wants.

The Bible says in I Corinthians 6:19-20, “…do you not know that your body is the temple of the Holy Spirit who is in you, whom you have from God, and you are not your own? 20 For you were bought at a price; therefore glorify God in your body and in your spirit, which are God’s.”

Owner-thinking people may reject the idea of the body not being their own; stewards simply say “Thank you” and “Amen.”

Tithing is a test we all must pass. It literally means a tenth part. The tithe represents the ultimate heart test. When we understand God’s perspective on tithing, it changes how we think about tithing.

God looks at the heart; people look at the money; stewards look at God and desire to please Him with their time, talent and treasure.

My friend, exchange your ownership thinking for a stewardship mindset. Surrender to God’s ownership in every detail of your life and, when you do, prepare yourself to live a life blessed with His grace and favor.

3 thoughts on “God-First Lifestyle

  1. Malachi 3:8 ask us ” Will A Man Rob God?” I know that in that in society if we rob someone the penalty is very steep. First of all the bail for robbery in the Los Angeles County felony bail schedule is $100,000 and you will also be exposed to a lengthy prison sentence. I have no desire to rob anyone but if I did it certainly wouldn’t be God. Friends and family I can attest to the lifestyle of being a full fledge 10 percent tither and Gods word is definitely true. He always makes a way for me and my family. Even when things get tight and rough God always comes through, I believe that Gods continued provision is directly related to being obedient when it comes to tithing. If you’re not a tither simply pray and ask God to give you the stewardship mentality instead of the ownership mentality.
    God bless you all! I love the daily word, Thanks P.T.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Michael

    Amen PT!
    As you indicated, tithing is a test. Everything belongs to God, so it’s not a matter of God needing anything from us. Tithing is a principle of faith, so are we going to operate in faith or choose to trust the temporal to meet our needs? I choose to operate in faith and trust God to meet our needs.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Gloria

      I chose to operate in faith (while on welfare) many, many years ago by giving tithes & offerings… and God has been faithful! I never miss an opportunity to give! During my recent season of unemployment and underemployment, I continued to give tithes & offerings…and continued to trust God to provide for ALL of my needs. I believe that without a shadow of doubt, it has been because of my tithes/offering/alms that my family and I have not been consumed by the cares of this world! My young adult daughters are tithers and became tithers at a young age….it was by their understanding of the Word as well as my example that they are tithers. To God be the Glory…Amen & Amen!

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.