Living in God’s Blessings and Benefits

By Pastor Alton Trimble

Daily Word for Sunday, July 19, 2015

Living in the Blessing of God

Living in the blessings and benefits of God requires us to understand His role and our own role in our lives. Another way of saying this is, understanding who He is must coexist with understanding who I am not.

When David says in Psalm 23, “The Lord is my Shepherd,” he lifts up these two ideas.

Note the following implications:

As my Shepherd:

He is in control; I am not.

• He is Lord and Master; I am not.

• He is the Supplier of all my needs; I am not.

• He is the good, great and chief Shepherd; I am not.

• He is in charge of my care and keeping; I am not.

• He is the Executor of my life and death; I am not.

My care and keeping are corollary to the resources of my Caretaker.

Understanding who I am not enables me to embrace who God is and positions me to live in His blessings and benefits.

Say out loud with the above in mind, “The Lord is my Shepherd.”

6 thoughts on “Living in God’s Blessings and Benefits

  1. Awesome word this morning, thanks again P.T., remaining focused on who He is and who we’re not is vital. Thank you Lord for being my Shepherd, and my everything! All glory and honor to you Heavenly Father!

    Like

  2. Michael

    Amen PT.
    I thank the Lord for being in control, leading and sheparding my life.
    I think about our confession at the beginning of every service. “…I am what it says I am”, this is so powerful. In this statement and the Word of God tells me that I am a sinner, I have fallen short, but I am redeemed through Christ who strengthens me if I seek Him and put Him in charge of my life.
    I can’t wait for service today!

    Like

  3. Logan III

    I don’t profess to know a lot of things, but what my knowing knows is that God is everything and more in my Life. That’s good to know…

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.