Baptism = From Death to Life

By Pastor Alton Trimble

Daily Word for Monday, July 20, 2015

Baptism is Death to Life

You may not be aware that as believers we “die” before we die. Romans 6:1-5 delineates this reality for us; [What shall we say then? Shall we continue in sin that grace may abound? 2 Certainly not! How shall we who died to sin live any longer in it? 3 Or do you not know that as many of us as were baptized into Christ Jesus were baptized into His death? 4 Therefore we were buried with Him through baptism into death, that just as Christ was raised from the dead by the glory of the Father, even so we also should walk in newness of life. 5 For if we have been united together in the likeness of His death, certainly we also shall be in the likeness of His resurrection].

The scripture opens with a rhetorical question related to sin and grace. It goes on to answer the rhetorical question emphatically, establishing the proper relationship between the two.

In verse 2, the text suggests our death before our death influences the life we are living now. In verse 3, the Bible seeks to examine our understanding related to our baptism into Christ and ask us, in essence, “what do you think you were baptized into?”

We are further informed in verse 3 that our baptism into Christ was a baptism into His death.

Verse 4 explains the phenomenon stating that our baptism into Christ is a burial but we are not buried alone. We, through baptism, are buried with Christ, according to God’s Word, so that we could be raised “from the dead by the glory of the Father.”

Verse 5 reiterates the blessed event of our shared death, burial and resurrection with Christ.

Friend, you really are a new creature in Christ, old things have passed away and all things are new. So Baptism is for us an outward expression of an inward reality.

Walk in the reality of the new you and make your Heavenly Father smile!

Peace and blessings!

4 thoughts on “Baptism = From Death to Life

  1. Sherry Joseph

    It still amazes me how God transformed my life. Prior to coming to Christ I thought I would have to clean up my life, stop doing the things I was accustomed to, which was a barrier for a longtime because in and of myself I could not do it, only God could. Once I received Him into my life my perspective changed, in essence He gave me a heart transplant and those old habits began to break, things I used to do didn’t interest me any longer. In order for Christ to live in us our old nature must be buried unto death in Him that we may walk in His resurrection.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Michael

    Amen PT!
    I am forever thankful to God for changing my life and helping me live according to His purpose. I can see His work in me and I am grateful that I no longer do the things I once did. There are still areas where I need His help, but every day the old me passes and the new me shines.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. LeLe

    I am thankful for the closing of period of my life and the beginning of a new spiritual life. I know that my past is dead and I can have freedom and victory in Christ Jesus.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.