Rules of Engagement

By Pastor Alton Trimble

Daily Word for Wednesday, July 22, 2015

Rules of Engagement 2

Friend, as you are confronted with any number of issues in your day to day life, I want to offer for your consideration some rules for engaging the enemy on the battlefield of life.

As you think through these ideals, do so knowing you have already won in Christ. Even though you may be troubled on every side, the Spirit of God in you is greater than anything confronting you.

I Corinthians 10:13 gives us resources in our arsenal of weapons that destroy the enemy’s strategy related to our lives.

I Corinthians 10:13 – No temptation has overtaken you except such as is common to man; but God is faithful, who will not allow you to be tempted beyond what you are able, but with the temptation will also make the way of escape, that you may be able to bear it.

1. Maintain proper perspective in your challenge.

“No temptation has overtaken you except such as is common to man.”

• While your challenge may seem larger than life, God, through His Word, has assured you it’s not; it simply “is common to man.”

2. Know that your victory is built on the foundation of God’s faithfulness.

“But God is faithful…”

• God does what He says He will do.

• Anyone who has ever tried Him has to say, He’s never failed them.

3. He knows precisely how much you can take.

“…who will not allow you to be tempted beyond what you are able.”

• God knows your capacity and is your strength in weakness.

4. God has and is your way out.

“But with the temptation will also make the way of escape….”

• Trust God to the degree that you begin to confess your escape before you are actually out.

• Say it now, “I’m coming out in Jesus’ name.”

5. You are going to make it and God will get you through.

“…that you may be able to bear it.”

• Your victory is intact.

Meditate on these five principles and ask God to help you employ them in your life.

Peace and blessings!

7 thoughts on “Rules of Engagement

  1. Michael

    Amen PT.
    God is the author and finisher of our lives. I’ve experienced many victories in my life because of God. Even in times where I was hard pressed on every side, and failure looked to be certain, God won the victory for me because I let Him fight the battle.
    My battle wasn’t more than I was able to bear, and because of His victory I can use my testimony to help others.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. LeLe

    Good word and reminder PT
    As I am looking and waiting for a new job, I see all my classmates talking about their new positions. I wondered why God has not opened a door for me yet. Then I remember it not about me. It will happen on God’s time. So I wait knowing that God has brought me this far so there is no need for me to be anxious. He will come through like He dies mightly and in a big way. I thank Him in advance for the new position. Keeping the right perspective.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sherry Joseph

    I’m learning how to praise The Lord in the storms of life and these principles are right on time. I am leaning on His everlasting arms, not on my own understanding. Remembering that He is faithful, He is my way out and He won’t allow more than I can bear. He is my strength and causes me to walk on my high places. The Lord is good, a stronghold in the day of trouble and He knows those who trust and take refuge in Him. Thank you Lord.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.