Developing a Winning Attitude – Pastor Alton Trimble

Daily Word for Saturday, July 25, 2015

Developing a Winning Attitude f

We have all met people who seem to possess a winning attitude. Others are attracted to them, they find favor or opportunity with people and you’d probably vote them ‘most likely to succeed.’

People with those attributes weren’t necessarily born that way. In fact, they have most often learned the behavior we see them practicing.

People who have attitudinal behavior that is less than winning is also the result of chronic practice. Our attitudes and presuppositions are merely habits of thoughts we have nurtured over the years.

The Bible gives us insights that are helpful in developing habits of thoughts to build a winning attitude.

Philippians 2:3-8 – “Let nothing be done through selfish ambition or conceit, but in lowliness of mind let each esteem others better than himself. 4 Let each of you look out not only for his own interests, but also for the interests of others. 5 Let this mind be in you which was also in Christ Jesus, 6 who, being in the form of God, did not consider it robbery to be equal with God, 7 but made Himself of no reputation, taking the form of a bondservant, and coming in the likeness of men. 8 And being found in appearance as a man, He humbled Himself and became obedient to the point of death, even the death of the cross.”

1. Check your motivation for the thoughts you think and the actions you take.

“Let nothing be done through selfish ambition or conceit.”

2. Think well of people around you and practice humility.

“But in lowliness of mind, let each esteem others better than him or herself.”

3. Find out what people around you value and determine how you can contribute to their progress.

“Let each of you look out not only for his or her own interest but also for the interest of others.”

4. Discover and practice the mind of Christ.

“Let this mind be in you which was also in Christ Jesus…”

You are a winning attitude in training. Add these thoughts to your workout routine and watch your winning potential rise.

Peace and blessings!

3 thoughts on “Developing a Winning Attitude – Pastor Alton Trimble

  1. I win, when I esteem others more highly than myself. In fact, as I look for the good in others, my heart becomes more sensitive to their needs. I then reach out and give to them.

    In many ways the Lord uses these opportunities to refine me. As my attitude changes I become less critical. I am more able to praise the Lord for the gifts and talents others bring to the table.

    It’s a beautiful thing to change the lens of my heart to see the good in others. And, I am drawing folks toward me, so I can share Christ’s goodness and mercy.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Michael

    Amen PT
    I am thankful that Jesus cared enough to come down and live with us and experience life with us.

    God has gifted me with compassion and an understanding for others. I am able to empathize and understand what people are going through. I’ve always been able to befriend people in many different economic, cultural, and social circles. In my experiences, most people are good and some are thirsty to hear the Word. I pray God gives me discernment to share the Word with those He puts in my life and uses me as His vessel to share my testimony.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Logan III

    Today’s devotional is the heartbeat of Living Connected. Ephesians 4 16 gives us the spiritual definition of T.E.A.M. ( Together Everybody Achieves More). Our attitude can predict altitude…

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.