The Secret Place – Pastor Alton Trimble

Daily Word for Sunday, July 26, 2015

The Secret Place

When we were children we had a secret place in which we hid from the other children. We thought they would not find us there; we had a sense of immunity and safety in that place.

Do you remember how quiet it was there? All the distractions from the outside were eliminated, you could hear your heart beat there, you were aware of the rhythm of your breathing and nothing else mattered in those moments of safety and solitude.

In time, the children you played with would find you and break into your place of rest and you would have to find another spot because the former was now compromised.

Friend, I have great news for you. There is a Secret Place you can go into that can never be compromised by outside influence no matter what they are.

The Bible says in Psalm 91:1-4, “He who dwells in the secret place of the Most High shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty. 2 I will say of the LORD, “He is my refuge and my fortress; my God, in Him I will trust.” 3 Surely He shall deliver you from the snare of the fowler and from the perilous pestilence. 4 He shall cover you with His feathers, and under His wings you shall take refuge; His truth shall be your shield and buckler.”

So what is the difference in this Secret Place and others you’ve had in the past?

1. It is a place you live in and not just hide in.

He who dwells in the secret place of the Most High shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty.

2. Your roommates in this Secret Place are comfort, relief, help and hope.

I will say of the LORD, “He is my refuge and my fortress; my God, in Him I will trust.”

3. Freedom is a staple in this Place.

Surely He shall deliver you from the snare of the fowler and from the perilous pestilence.

4. In this Place, you are surrounded by His divine protection.

He shall cover you with His feathers, and under His wings you shall take refuge; His truth shall be your shield and buckler.

So what do you do to get to the Secret Place? You do nothing! Jesus has made the way.

Ask the precious Holy Spirit to guide your journey there and, once there, never leave!

Peace and blessings!

3 thoughts on “The Secret Place – Pastor Alton Trimble

  1. Distractions are all around, drawing my attention and affecting
    my ability to focus. I am so thankful for my quiet place. Away from the noise,
    away from folks calling my name or making requests. In my place I can listen
    and hear from God. I am open to receive direction and to be still.

    Thank you Lord for this place of peace, joy and protection.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Michael

    Amen!
    In Jesus I have rest and comfort. I look back in my life and can tell the difference when going through hardships. Back before Jesus in my life trials brought stress and discomfort. Now during tests and trials I know where to go to get the guidance and hope that I need.
    Thank God for a place away from this world.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Logan III

    God is Amazing in that He gives All of His Children access to The Secret Place. Like the lyrics in the song by The Staple Singer, The Holy Spirit says,”I know A Place and if you are Ready; I’ll Take You There…” I am so Glad that I found that Secret Place in God to Dwell in and I AIN’T LEAVING… My Life is hide in Christ in God to my that is Amazing

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.