Walk, Stand and Sit Your Way into Your Blessings – Pastor Alton Trimble

Daily Word for Thursday, July 30, 2015

Walk Stand and Sit Your way to Blessings (5)

Among the many things that impact the blessings of God in our lives are where we walk, where we stand and where we sit.

The Bible says in Psalm 1:1, “Blessed is the man who walks not in the counsel of the ungodly, nor stands in the path of sinners, nor sits in the seat of the scornful.”

The words “walk, stand and sit” all hold the same inference of residency, dwelling or lifestyle. In other words, folks who do not practice taking up inordinate time with ungodly counsel, sinner’s path or those with scornful behavior are those who will be blessed, according to God’s Word.

But it is not enough for us to just avoid these pitfalls. Psalm 1:2 tells us “But his delight is in the law of the LORD, and in His law he meditates day and night.”

It is an encouragement for us to practice the spiritual disciplines of reading and meditating on God’s Word daily.

In Psalm 1:3, we see the result of having done so; [He shall be like a tree planted by the rivers of water that brings forth its fruit in its season, whose leaf also shall not wither; and whatever he does shall prosper].

The Word of God is to the Believer what water is to a tree; productivity is inevitable and prosperity is assured.

Allow these three verses of Psalm 1 to be your meditation today and listen for the voice of the Spirit as you do. I believe He has a Word just for you.

Peace and blessings!

11 thoughts on “Walk, Stand and Sit Your Way into Your Blessings – Pastor Alton Trimble

  1. Dear Glory Family, pray for me.

    All of us have encountered someone who walks in the counsel of the ungodly, stands with sinners, and who is (him/herself) scornful and devisive.

    My affirmation: I will trust in the Lord at all times. His praise shall be continually in my mouth. I will say of the Lord, He is my refuse and strength, my strong tower. Whom shall I fear?

    Thank you Lord.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. When I find myself around the ungodly or scornful people I listen very closely. I look for an opening and a way to access them and begin a relationship. It’s a great opportunity to minister the word of God. The key word is “inordinate ” which means excessive or inappropriate. We can’t just fall into a chill mode and get comfortable around those types of folk. Great word today, I just love it!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. LeLe

    Thank you PT for this daily word. It gives us all an opportunity to not just read, but to study God’s word daily and to meditate on it all day. When you start your day with God’s word it keeps you focus and aware of not only your surroundings but who surround your self with.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Its to everyone who walks the path of Christian lifestyle to demonstrate what it is following the example set by God. Many seek the light but when they come across it. They dont understand it. The Bible tells us that the light of God walked among men and the darkness understood it not. We are therefore compelled to be the ambassadors of the coming Kingdom of heaven to a dying world. The Psalms educate the believer that our actions speak VOLUMES than mere words. And if our words dont match our actions, then we are doing nothing for the cause of Christ.

    As I’m saying this to challenge everyone reading that you are the conduit of God’s Word as well as his grace. Dont involve yourself in things that dont bring honor to God and dishonor to you. Separate from these and focus on things above for you never know when the lost may seek out the light and God may appoint you as his torch bearer. Be ready to shine at all times and continue to give praise in the dry as well as the wet seasons of life. God will bless you for it!M

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rainea Warren

      Amen! M Warren, My Bro from another mother. My little light was shining at my darkest season last year, however I wasn’t aware because I was feeling throw away by family due to being named sole Trustee to our earthly Father’s estate? Still praying for and Loving Family because Love doesn’t just dissipate!. Coming out of the Lomita Post Office, an older gentlemen stop me and said “I see your aura, you’re a child of God” I said “Wow, you see that, why don’t my brother and sister see that!” “perhaps they do,but that’s their problem, not your’s?” I cried like a baby. That strife brought me BACK where I needed to be….closer to Our Heavenly Father, who has shown me his grace everyday. So i’m excited, getting stronger so I can Let My Little Light Shine, be a beacon and spread the Light to our brothers, sisters in our families and the World.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. TiraJ

    I walk asking the Lord to be my captain in command and I his servent to do his will. I stand in my office at work in a den of ungodly people whom know, I love the Lord and do share his word. I sit among them not to pass judgement or to enjoy their words of foolishness , but to offer a word from the Lord when I can. There are darts, snares and traps all aroud me daily, sometimes I must find a secret place to pray and cry out to the Lord. I know he will not put more on me than I can bare, so I go back in my office to finish the task God has given me. Stronger than when I entered before. My flesh says I’m weak, my spirit says I’m strong, my Father reminds me I’m not alone. Thank you Heavenly Father for your teachings and blessing, being able to share your word with someone else no matter the cost,you paid it for me.

    Thank you Pastor, I needed this word this day.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Michael

    Amen PT!
    I constantly pray that God gives me an unquenchable thirst for His word, and seeking His presence. His word is the best food and water I can ever acquire.
    I take what I’ve read and share with many people, even the people who are scornful. The fine line is that I don’t surround myself with them allowing them to influence me. I feed my spirit with the things of God and block out those bad influences.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Holy Spirit flow like a river through me. Just as water is core to living things, so you are to our lives thriving and spiritual things. Thank you P.T. for providing this tool to share God’s plans for our lives.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Rainea Warren

    Amen! M Warren, My Bro from another mother. My little light was shining at my darkest season last year, however I wasn’t aware because I was feeling throw away by family due to being named sole Trustee to our earthly Father’s estate? Still praying for and Loving Family because Love doesn’t just dissipate!. Coming out of the Lomita Post Office, an older gentlemen stop me and said “I see your aura, you’re a child of God” I said “Wow, you see that, why don’t my brother and sister see that!” “perhaps they do,but that’s their problem, not your’s?” I cried like a baby. That strife brought me BACK where I needed to be….closer to Our Heavenly Father, who has shown me his grace everyday. So i’m excited, getting stronger so I can Let My Little Light Shine, be a beacon and spread the Light to our brothers, sisters in our families and the World.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Logan III

    Walk, Stand, and Sit
    You are so RIGHT PT, to be in and to stay in Position; Believers have to be careful and diligent about where we allow our feet to trend, because narrow is the Path to Righteousness. Furthermore we have to be Mindful of who we allow to have influence to speak into our Lives and be Vigilant about being aware of our surroundings at All Times. Lastly, what would be the benefit in hanging around with people who are Filled with Scorn, Absolutely Nothing. The Bible Teaches us that Success belongs to Believers that are Guided by the Principles laid out in Scriptures such as Psalm 1:1-3. I Prefer being Blessed by God…it’s just the simple for me.

    Like

Comments are closed.