The Pleasure of Waiting – Pastor Alton Trimble

Daily Word for Saturday, August 1, 2015

The Pleasure of Waiting - Final (1)

I sat in a mall in an area where other men were sitting who all seem to be as put off about being there as I was. After surveying the group, it wasn’t long before I decided that I wanted out of that club.

We all had wives who were shopping while we waited thinking about all the things that we would rather be doing. The thought occurred to me that a better investment of my time would be to get involved with my wife as she shopped.

I got there just in time to see this sales lady standing behind my wife as she looked into a mirror. The lady had both hands filled with material from the dress to make it appear to fit my wife while she told her the dress was made for her.

I recommended to my wife that she not purchase that and I went to the rack and brought another choice that I liked and thought she would also. The activity of assisting made the waiting a pleasure. My reward was watching the smile on my wife’s face as she modeled for me and purchasing something we both liked.

The Bible says in Isaiah 40:31, “But those who wait on the LORD Shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles, they shall run and not be weary, they shall walk and not faint.”

The reality is who you are waiting for determines the level of pleasure in waiting.

Note the benefits of waiting on the Lord:

1. An answer to the problem of weakness.

“…shall renew their strength”

2. Ability to soar above the fray.

“…they shall mount up with wings like eagles”

3. Ability to endure.

“…they shall run and not be weary”

4. Ability to stay the course.

“…they shall walk and not faint”

My friend, the way to find pleasure in waiting is to be engaged with who you are waiting for.

Peace and blessings!

7 thoughts on “The Pleasure of Waiting – Pastor Alton Trimble

  1. Over the past two weeks I was faced with difficult situations that were out of my control. At first I began to seek solutions. But, then I decided to stop worrying and released each problem to the Lord.

    My waiting paid off. The Lord came through BIG in each situation. I was really blessed.

    I’m very happy I waited on the Lord. Less stress and so blessed!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Logan III

    I use to think that I was a patient man, but all that time that I am waiting I was COMPLAINING. God had to teach me that Patience is Waiting without Complaining. This was a Life Changing Revelation for me. I can be Patient and Wait for God’s Timing beacuse I can Trust that God is working to ensure that Everything Is Working Together for My Good…27 Psalms

    Liked by 1 person

  3. LeLe

    As I deal with the lost of income and looking for a new job, I have turned down job offers that would require me to perform interventions that compromise my beliefs. So, I wait on the Lord for a new job, I wait with anticipation because I known God has a plan and purpose for the position He wants me to have. No need for worry or anxiety. I will continue to trust God and do good. Jer 29:11 gives me hope and peace.
    LeLe

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.