Submit to God’s Sovereign Control – Pastor Alton Trimble

Daily Word for Monday, August 10, 2015

Submit to God's Control - Final

God asks Ezekiel in Chapter 37 verse 3, “Can these bones live?” Ezekiel answered, “O Lord, You know.” He was saying to God, “I’m not in charge, You are!”

Much of the challenge we face in our walk with God has to do with us reaching for and grabbing the reins of control as they relate to our own lives and stepping into an area of authority we are both un-anointed and un-appointed to handle.

Knowing who we are not is as critical as knowing who we are. The Psalmist David said, most assuredly, in Psalm 23:

• “The Lord is my Shepherd.”

– God leads and cares for me.

• “I shall not want.”

– My deepest needs shall be met.

• “He makes me to lie down in green pastures.”

– God makes me free to rest.

• “He leads me besides still waters.”

– God supplies me with safe, life-giving water.

• “He restores my soul.”

– God keeps me in perfect peace.

• “He leads me in the paths of righteousness…”

– God always keeps His promise to lead me to the right paths.

• “Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil; for You are with me.”

– God hasn’t given me a spirit of fear; He protects me.

• “Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me.”

– God’s watchful eyes and strong hands make me feel safe.

• “You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies.”

– Nothing can keep God from caring and providing for me.

• “You anoint my head with oil.”

– God is my healing balm.

• “My cup overflows.”

– God has made me a reservoir of His goodness and grace.

• “Surely goodness and mercy will follow me all the days of my life.”

– What a life! God is always with me.

• “And I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever.”

– I shall live eternally with God.

Friend, think on these things!

Peace and blessings!

8 thoughts on “Submit to God’s Sovereign Control – Pastor Alton Trimble

  1. Jesus take the wheel! “Knowing who we are not (I missed the word not the first 3x I read ) is as critical as knowing who we are”. Yes! So thankful to know We are not, alone , abandoned, bound or lacking. In Christ Jesus We are never alone, cared for and about, free indeed, protected, all of our needs are met and most important SAVED by His blood. Thanking God for peace beyond all understanding for Sister Foresteen and the body of Christ. in Jesus might name.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. LeLe

    Love the way you explained this very familiar Psalm. Yes, the Lord is my shepherd I shall not want. That alone has given me so much peace and freedom over the years. I have learned that there is no need to be in control of everything and all the time. God’s got me every step and in every way. God works things out for our good, even when we can’t see the how. Just focus on Jer 29:11.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. raineawarren

      Amen! I read “Peace floods the soul when CHRIST rules the heart”. In these tribulate times we must remember that GOD’S GOT OUR BACKS and we can find favor, peace and rest in knowing that.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Logan IIIt

    In the Message Bible the 23 Psalm begins, The Lord is my Shepherd, I do not Need A Thing. That Scripture tells me are any Believer; God Has Got Me, ( like Dr Penn says). What I am is a Child of God, what I am Not is going back to my old way of living, because God has shown me a Better Way. The Lord is my Shepherd…Nuff Said

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jerome

    Great word today P T you tought us to say what God say about us not what we think or say about ourselves because what God say about us is who were really are

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.