Appropriate Expressions at Appropriate Times are Appropriate – Pastor Alton Trimble

Daily Word for Thursday, August 13, 2015

Appropriate - Final

I Samuel 30:4 – Then David and the people who were with him lifted up their voices and wept, until they had no more power to weep.

Weeping as a response to grief has great value. Most women approach weeping from an entirely different perspective than most men. From childhood, little boys are taught to avoid crying while little girls are allowed to cry and are validated in the experience.

Grief is most often thought of as being related to death but in I Samuel 30:4, no one died yet there was grief. So then grief is a keen mental suffering or distress related to any affliction or loss; perceived or real.

Psalm 30:5 offers insight to a window in the grieving process for believers […weeping may endure for a night but joy comes in the morning]. Note, the text progresses from weeping to joy.

There may be a sense in which lack of joy in our lives is related to lack of weeping; there is no brokenness or contrition therefore no weeping.

The barriers to weeping can be the result of two kinds of grief:

1. Stagnant grief = stuck in bitterness, anger, shock, sorrow or pain.

Ephesians 4:30-32 – And do not grieve the Holy Spirit of God, by whom you were sealed for the day of redemption. 31 Let all bitterness, wrath, anger, clamor, and evil speaking be put away from you, with all malice. 32 And be kind to one another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, even as God in Christ forgave you.

2. Hopeless grief = void of a desire for good and therefore no expectation of even attaining it.

I Thessalonians 4:13 – But I do not want you to be ignorant, brethren, concerning those who have fallen asleep, lest you sorrow as others who have no hope. 

• Hope = desire of some good with an expectation of obtaining it.

As we grow in our relationship with God, a desire for good with an expectation of obtaining it is nurtured in us. It becomes a way of living for us so that even in our darkest moments we can turn to Jeremiah 29:11 and read, “For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the Lord, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope.” 

Today, allow God’s thoughts of peace toward you and His desire “to give you a future and a hope” to be superimposed over any reason you may have to grieve. Not to the end that you stop grieving right now; your grief will run its course but that you don’t grieve as others who have no hope.

Hope in God, my friend; hope in the Lord!

Peace and blessings

9 thoughts on “Appropriate Expressions at Appropriate Times are Appropriate – Pastor Alton Trimble

  1. From someone who has suffered much loss from a child to adulthood, I truly understand how you can get stuck in your pain, but THANKS BE UNTO GOD who ALWAYS causes us to TRIUMPH in Him. There is healing for your soul! Thank you JESUS for Hope.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Michael

    Amen PT!
    Thank the Lord we have hope. Hope is the belief that something is possible and probable, and hope is a critical part of achieving a strategy. Therefore, in order to be victorious I must put my hope in the Lord.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. raineawarren

    Amen PT!
    Grieving is good, as it gives us a chance to reflect on our situations and hopefully Refresh our perspective on Life… bring us back to CHRIST. He’s our FIRST LINE OF DEFENSE when the enemy attacks! I/WE need to Remember that! Grief has it’s purpose, but it also has its limits. Don’t get suck at the pity party! Do your Praise Dance and keep moving into the LIGHT.I Thank GOD for the PEACE of MIND only HE can bring.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Logan III

    Isaiah 61:3 Grief is an emotion, but being stuck in it is a choice. As for me, I choose Life. I am not saying that I don’t feel down at times, however, what I am saying is, “I Don’t Stay Down.” I use Divergent Thinking methods to find a way(s) to get to the Good Part. Like Marvin Gaye said, “This I Know”…That is God is Working Everything for My Good…

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.