Be a Positive Force in a Negative Situation – Pastor Alton Trimble

Daily Word for Friday, August 14, 2015

Be a Positive Force in a Negative Situation

I Samuel 30:6 – Now David was greatly distressed, for the people spoke of stoning him, because the soul of all the people was grieved, every man for his sons and his daughters. But David strengthened himself in the LORD his God.

David, in this crisis of major proportion, was faced with not only the same losses his contemporaries faced but as their leader he was burdened with some level of responsibility related to providing direction for the people he led.

The text above indicates that the people blamed David for their losses to the degree that they wanted to stone him. David was greatly distressed yet, in the midst of this stressful situation, he did something that was original in the group he was in.

The text further tells us they all wept until they had no more power to weep; that they all grieved, every man for his sons and his daughters. But note that David is the only one in the crowd that began to encourage or strengthen himself in the Lord his God.

When David began to encourage himself in the Lord, his position and condition began to change. Note the movement as he did so.

• He moved toward God.

– Moving toward God will always take us away from the ordinary and sets the stage for the extraordinary.

• He moved toward mercy and grace.

– Mercy and grace are doors to recovery.

• He moved toward the wisdom of God.

– The wisdom of God is never an answer to our situation; it is THE ANSWER!

• He moved toward recovering all he lost.

– Moving toward God, mercy, grace and wisdom sets us up for recovering everything we lost.

So my friend, get strong in your God who is your strength and meditate today on the following scriptures:

Psalm 28:8 – The LORD is their strength and He is the saving refuge of His anointed.

Psalm 46:1 – God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble.

Psalm 84:5 – Blessed is the man whose strength is in You, whose heart is set on pilgrimage.

Peace and blessings!

8 thoughts on “Be a Positive Force in a Negative Situation – Pastor Alton Trimble

  1. Amen Pastor Trimble!

    Sometimes when I’m in the midst of a stressful situation, I ask myself, “now what do I do?” This is a great daily word to me because it answers my question. The answer is that I have to strengthen myself in the Lord. That’s it!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. We have to keep moving towards God. Movement is essential in getting through storms and challenges. Thank you Lord for all you’ve done, all you’re doing, and all you’re going to do! TRANSFORMATIONAL BREAKTHROUGHS for all!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Alissa Irvins

    Pastor,

    Thank you so much for this word! My husband and I ride to work together so we are able to read the word and pray on it. Reading the daily word is a blessing and is right on time!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Michael

    Amen PT!
    I relate to this message from a leadership perspective. Leaders will eventually find themselves in the same position as David. People will blame the leader for things that don’t go according to plan. When that situation arises we must strengthen ourselves in God because He put us in the position of leadership.

    Thank God for being our strong tower.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. LeLe

    I have found that in the middle of a storm and after a good cry; as I move closer to God I literally feel His strength infusing my spirit, mind, body and soul. I feel different, I think different and I speak different and then peace comes, you know that peace that surpasses all understanding. When your family and friends can’t understand how your handling things, why your not looking tore up from the floor up, why your talking so positive. But they don’t get it, it’s not me but the Living God that I serve Who lives big in me. I overcome by His strength not mine. I am so thankful I know God to be a refuge and great help in times I’ve been in trouble. I am so blessed to be a believer.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.