Follow God’s Instruction with Abandonment – Pastor Alton Trimble

Daily Word for Monday, August 17, 2015

Follow God’s Instruction - Final 2

I Samuel 30:9So David went, he and the six hundred men who were with him, and came to the Brook Besor, where those stayed who were left behind.

In I Samuel 30:9, the statement, “so David went” pops off the screen for me. There was no further conversation, no second guessing or no need to consult anyone else; he just went.

What would our lives be if we just did what God says to us without question? Just go where and when He tells us to go.

I believe following God’s instruction is related to how we’ve learned to follow the instruction of others. In other words, we may have a predisposition toward not following well. To improve we will need to retrain ourselves to be better in several areas.

Let’s consider a few areas we can begin to further develop:

1. Our response to leadership

Hebrews 13:17Obey those who rule over you, and be submissive, for they watch out for your souls, as those who must give account. Let them do so with joy and not with grief, for that would be unprofitable for you.

• Obedience and submission are two keys to improve our response to leadership.

2. Our hearing.

Proverbs 1:8My son, hear the instruction of your father, and do not forsake the law of your mother.

• Hearing is more than the functioning of our ears. How we hear has to do with our hearts as well.

• Presupposition can strongly influence what we hear.

• We hear more effectively if we listen to what is being said as well as what is not being said.

• I once read a statement about hearing God that says, “The ear that hears the voice of the Spirit is the one that’s not listening to anything else.”

3. Distractions will totally destroy your ability to hear; shut them down and be fully attentive.

John 10:27 My sheep hear My voice, and I know them, and they follow Me.

4. What we hear impacts how we hear.

• What we are listening to is seed that will bring a harvest for our lives.

Mark 4:23-24If anyone has ears to hear, let him hear.” 24 Then He said to them, “Take heed what you hear. With the same measure you use, it will be measured to you; and to you who hear, more will be given.

I John 4:1Beloved, do not believe every spirit, but test the spirits, whether they are of God; because many false prophets have gone out into the world.

My friend, start here and build the ability to hear and follow hard after God.

Peace and blessings!

6 thoughts on “Follow God’s Instruction with Abandonment – Pastor Alton Trimble

  1. Michael

    Amen.
    With God, all things are possible. When God provides instruction in my life, I obey and submit. We must spend time studying the word daily and in prayer in order to hear what God is telling us (I think of Romans 10:17).

    Liked by 1 person

  2. lori

    Yes this is so true. Before the word goes forth every Sunday I ask God, let me hear your words. He use pastor as a vessel to speak but often times we hear pastor voice but ask ourselves are we hearing God’s voice. Just ask and it shall be done.

    Like

  3. LeLe

    The spiritual disciplines of studying the word, prayer, and intimate time with God has allowed me to clearly hear God’s voice and when I know I move. I have learned that God knows every outcome of my life and when He directs me a certain way, I know it is for my good. Even when I don’t understand, even I can’t see the outcome. I find great peace knowing my decisions and actions were out of obedience and God led.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. La Wanda.

    I know that many of us hear the word, but until it become epignosis (Short Definition knowledge, discernment, recognition)! we will struggle to listen and obey God’s voice!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.