Your Accomplishment Will Never Reflect Your Journey – Pastor Alton Trimble

Daily Word for Tuesday, August 18, 2015

Your accomplishment - Final

There is something in our humanity that causes us to be near-sighted concerning the accomplishments of others and, sometimes, our own.

I often hear people referred to as ‘overnight sensation’ in various fields. The reality is, when we see them it is likely not the beginning of their career but a recognition of some recent accomplishment that fails to reflect the long hours, days, weeks, months and years of hard work getting to that accomplishment.

David was that kind of ‘overnight sensation’, who after years of struggle was anointed King of Israel [II Samuel 5]; his inauguration didn’t reflect his journey.

So what is the significance of the journey? The journey is the training ground upon which you are becoming what God has purposed you to be.

Consider the following observations related to your journey to accomplishment. Your journey is where you learn to:

1. Hone your challenge management skills.

• Trust skills.

Proverbs 3:5-6 – Trust in the LORD with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding; 6 In all your ways acknowledge Him, and He shall direct your paths.

• Anxiety management.

Philippians 4:6-7 – Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God; 7 and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.

2. Your obedience and submission skills.

Psalm 23:1-6 – The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want. 2 He makes me to lie down in green pastures; He leads me beside the still waters. 3 He restores my soul; He leads me in the paths of righteousness for His name’s sake. 4 Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil; for You are with me; Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me. 5 You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies; You anoint my head with oil; My cup runs over. 6 Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life; and I will dwell in the house of the LORD Forever.

3. Your relationship building skills.

• Love

Philippians 2:2-4 – …fulfill my joy by being like-minded, having the same love, being of one accord, of one mind. 3 Let nothing be done through selfish ambition or conceit, but in lowliness of mind let each esteem others better than himself. 4 Let each of you look out not only for his own interests, but also for the interests of others.

• Encouragement

Ephesians 4:29 – Let no corrupt word proceed out of your mouth, but what is good for necessary edification, that it may impart grace to the hearers.

Colossians 4:5-6 – Walk in wisdom toward those who are outside, redeeming the time. 6 Let your speech always be with grace, seasoned with salt, that you may know how you ought to answer each one.

• Respect

Ephesians 4:31 – Let all bitterness, wrath, anger, clamor, and evil speaking be put away from you, with all malice.

Ephesians 5:33 – Nevertheless let each one of you in particular so love his own wife as himself, and let the wife see that she respects her husband.

• Mercy and grace

Luke 6:36 – Therefore be merciful, just as your Father also is merciful.

II Corinthians 12:8-9 – Concerning this thing I pleaded with the Lord three times that it might depart from me. 9 And He said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for My strength is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore most gladly I will rather boast in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.

My friend, meditate on these things!

Peace and blessings!

8 thoughts on “Your Accomplishment Will Never Reflect Your Journey – Pastor Alton Trimble

  1. Father, LORD….I thank you for my journey; all the ebbs and flows of life. You help me to be all that you purposed me to be as I stay in you.

    Philippians 1:6 (Living Bible)
    6 And I am sure that God who began the good work within you will keep right on helping you grow in his grace until his task within you is finally finished on that day when Jesus Christ returns.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Thank you Lord for the journey you have placed in my life. I thank You for the divine direction and the guiding of my footsteps. I will continue to trust You Lord and not lean towards my own understanding. All glory and honor to You Almighty God!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Michael

    Amen PT!
    I’ll be honest, it’s easy to look back and thank the Lord for the journey. As I ponder the journey’s I’ve had in my life it’s easy to now acknowledge that the journey built trust, faith and spiritual maturity. However, there were times that it was difficult to thank the Lord while going through the journey. What helps is remembering God is in control and if we press forward we will be victorious in the end.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. LeLe

    I am very grateful, humbled and thankful for my life’s journey. God has brought me through me very lows and great highs. When I look back over my life. I able to see the presence and mindfulness of God. It is because of God grace and mercy in my life that I am motivated to give, help, and serve others. God has given me Not a perfect, but a privileged childhood and a blessed adulthood. Spiritually I have grown tremendously, excited and looking forward to the rest of this life journey and eternal life.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Logan III

    Pastor, the Message God gave you about, “The journey is the training ground upon which you are becoming what God has purposed you to be”, is so timely. I was driving to work this morning and put in an old Gospel CD that I found while cleaning and old drawer at home. There were several songs that reminded be of the Goodness of God, then, the song “I’m Grateful” by Hezekiah Walker started to play, in a part of the song Dave Hollister sings “Lord, I could have been dead and gone, but You saw different; You decided to Save me!!!” I had to pull over because I could not see through the tears. In the past many of my Life decisions had taken me to some very dark and dangerous places, however, I Thank God that I don’t look like what I’ve been through! I Believe that God Kept me through it all so that would be able to have and to give a Testimony in which He could use to speak to His people through my experience.

    Hebrews 12: 1-2 Therefore, since we have so great a cloud of witnesses surrounding us, let us also lay aside every encumbrance and the sin which so easily entangles us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, fixing our eyes on Jesus, the Author and Perfecter of Faith, who for the Joy set before Him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is seated at the right hand of the Throne of God.…

    Liked by 2 people

  6. raineawarren

    Accolades come in many forms. I was blessed with 2 GOD fearing, hard working, and giving parents, who instilled in me a sense of community at a young age. “You are not here to just serve yourself”. I witness that in their words and deeds. So when they needed care in their twilight years, there was NO hesitation in me moving back home to be their caregiver, to be their strength. Community starts at HOME!. GOD’S blessed me to bless them…and I’m eternally grateful I had that precious time with both.Thank you HEAVENLY FATHER, so I’m gonna continue seeking your FACE in this gracious journey of LOVE, staying on track…so I can see YOU ALL!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.