You Will Encounter Opposition – Pastor Alton Trimble

Daily Word for Wednesday, August 19, 2015

You Will Encounter Opposition – Pastor Alton11

A false sense of security is something we must guard against at all times but especially when promotion or accomplishment tempts us to drop our guard.

Immediately after David’s coronation as King of Israel, II Samuel 5:17 says, “Now when the Philistines heard that they had anointed David king over Israel, all the Philistines went up to search for David.”

No matter your achievement, there will be Philistines; they are those people who respond to the latest rumor about you. They are seldom helpful and will attempt to do harm if they can.

Thank God, He knows what your enemies’ plans are before they do. II Samuel 5:17 further says, “…all the Philistines went up to search for David. And David heard of it and went down to the stronghold.”

Our stronghold is prayer; prayer is the way to protect and defend ourselves from the enemies’ attacks.

Consider what the Bible says about how we are to move forward in a hostile environment:

1. Pray always.

I Thessalonians 5:17 – Pray without ceasing.

Romans 8:26 – Likewise the Spirit also helps in our weaknesses. For we do not know what we should pray for as we ought, but the Spirit Himself makes intercession for us with groanings which cannot be uttered.

2. Rely on God with everything you have.

Proverbs 3:5-6 – Trust in the LORD with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding; 6 In all your ways acknowledge Him, and He shall direct your paths.

3. Don’t get addicted to your rear view mirror.

Philippians 3:12-14 – Not that I have already attained, or am already perfected; but I press on, that I may lay hold of that for which Christ Jesus has also laid hold of me. 13 Brethren, I do not count myself to have apprehended; but one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind and reaching forward to those things which are ahead, 14 I press toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.

4. Know that you are never without God’s counsel or support.

Psalm 32:8 – I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go; I will guide you with My eye.

5. Let go of your past.

Isaiah 43:18-19 –”Do not remember the former things, nor consider the things of old. 19 Behold, I will do a new thing, now it shall spring forth; shall you not know it? I will even make a road in the wilderness and rivers in the desert.”

There is no secret formula to our success in any detail of our lives; we simply move forward in God.

Peace and blessings!

9 thoughts on “You Will Encounter Opposition – Pastor Alton Trimble

  1. In the midst of a crisis when one’s world seems to be falling apart, it can be difficult to move forward, and not turn back, or stay stagnant. This is a very edifying word for me.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Logan III

    Pastor, in this Life I understand that Philistines are like any other giant(s); they all fall down. Being a Child of God I know that; ‘Wherever I Am God is…’ In the face of opposition I Believe what God said that He will do for me and my Family “When we go through challenges, I know that God is with us and for us” Isaiah 43:1-3, Psalm 3, Psalm 27, and Isaiah 43:16-19 are just some of the Scriptures I S.T.AN.D. (means Simply Trusting And Not Doubting) on when Philistines rise up and want to get flex. I refuse to get caught up in a rear view mindset, particularly since the front windshield has a much Bigger & Better View and the things in the rear view are behind me and always getting smaller. That’s a 10-4 Good Buddy…Vroom Vroom…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. raineawarren

    Amen PT. I/We must stay submerged in the Blood of Jesus,I know it was the Blood. Also remembering: Philippians 3:13-14 Brethren, I do not regard myself as having laid hold of it yet; but one thing I do: forgetting what lies behind and reaching forward to what lies ahead. I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus. I’m keeping my eyes on the PRIZE!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.