Let God Tell You What Battles To Fight – Pastor Alton Trimble

Daily Word for Thursday, August 20, 2015

Let God Tell You What Battles To Fight - Final

Much of our lives can be spent fighting battles we should have never fought; battles that we weren’t designed to fight; battles we fought alone because we neglected a key principle in our war strategy.

We went into war without consulting God and found ourselves on battlefields without His approval or strategy for winning.

In contrast, David reveals a pattern of consulting God prior to a battle and receives God’s permission which served also as God’s admission that He would be fighting for David.

II Samuel 5:19-20So David inquired of the LORD, saying, “Shall I go up against the Philistines? Will You deliver them into my hand?” And the LORD said to David, “Go up, for I will doubtless deliver the Philistines into your hand.” 20 So David went to Baal Perazim, and David defeated them there; and he said, “The LORD has broken through my enemies before me, like a breakthrough of water.” Therefore he called the name of that place Baal Perazim.

Exodus 14:13-14And Moses said to the people, “Do not be afraid. Stand still, and see the salvation of the LORD, which He will accomplish for you today. For the Egyptians whom you see today, you shall see again no more forever. 14 The LORD will fight for you, and you shall hold your peace.”

The New King James Version (NKJV), New International Version (NIV) and English Standard Version (ESV) of the Bible give us, in the text above, three different considerations for those in battle with God fighting for them.

1. Exodus 14:13-14 (NKJV) – … and you shall hold your peace.”

• Jesus left us with His peace.

John 14:27Peace I leave with you, My peace I give to you; not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.

• We must hold what He gave us.

Isaiah 26:3You will keep him in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on You, because he trusts in You.

2. Exodus 14:13-14 (NIV) – “… you need only to be still.”

• Being still will ensure you are not fighting.

Psalm 46:10Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth!

Psalm 37:7Rest in the LORD, and wait patiently for Him; do not fret because of him who prospers in his way, because of the man who brings wicked schemes to pass.

3. Exodus 14:13-14 (ESV) – “… you have only to be silent.”

Psalm 62:5My soul, wait silently for God alone, for my expectation is from Him.

The Bible is replete with scriptures affirming the idea that God will fight for us. Our responsibility is to:

• Hold our peace

• Be still

• Be silent

…and watch the Lord work on our behalf.

Peace and blessings!

6 thoughts on “Let God Tell You What Battles To Fight – Pastor Alton Trimble

  1. Michael

    Amen PT!
    The awesomeness of God can not be measured. I’ve learned that every decision, whether large or small, should be made with the consultation of God.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. lori

    This was a good daily word. It reminds me of the world today and what’s going on in the news all over the globe. As many soldiers in arm forces and street soldiers (gangs) and evil doers they go into battle hoping to win. As believes we go into battle knowing we will win. As with most soldiers they believe their commander -in-chief. The problem with that is he/she is only a man. As believers we believe our commander-in-chief because he is The Man. As believers we must always hold our peace, be still, and be silent because if we let the Lord fight our battles Victory shall always be our.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Paul & Barbara Taylor

    God please help me Paul Taylor to be still,be silent & to hold my peace on a every day basic in the name of Jesus!! I thank God for my Pastor, the Wednesday night bible study & the men’s huddle. Thank God for my G.C.F.I. Family.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Teri

    I am so greatful for what God does for us. What God does for us is so beautiful, but why is it so difficult hold our peace, to be be still, be silent and wait on the Lord? Why is it so difficult to watch the Lord work on our behalf?

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.