Learning From The Nine Lepers Who Didn’t Return To Say Thank You? – Pastor Alton Trimble

Daily Word for Saturday, August 29, 2015

Learning From The Nine Lepers

Luke 17:17-18So Jesus answered and said, “Were there not ten cleansed? But where are the nine? 18 Were there not any found who returned to give glory to God except this foreigner?”

First, I think it is important to note that Christ didn’t ask why didn’t all come back to thank Him. He asked, “Why didn’t all return to give glory to God?” What we do in life should not be motivated by our self-interest but by our desire to bring glory to God.

Secondly, ungratefulness has a negative impact on our ability to effectively navigate the waters of our lives. It darkens our view to the end we are unable or refuse to see God at work in our lives. It desensitizes us to the end we forget where He brought us from. Just moments earlier they were under a death sentence and begging and pleading for help. It disappoints God.

How disappointing it can be when we make our time, talent or treasure available to people who fail to appreciate it.

Turn up the light on your gratefulness today by taking a moment to think about where God has brought you from and take another moment to praise and thank Him for the same.

Find that person in your life that you owe an expression of gratitude to and call, write a note or send an email. In doing so, you reduce the nine to eight. Learn from the nine!

Peace and blessings!

4 thoughts on “Learning From The Nine Lepers Who Didn’t Return To Say Thank You? – Pastor Alton Trimble

  1. Michael

    Amen!
    My praise and glory always belong to God. It seems we are quick to thank people like doctors (and we should) but slow to thank God for healing us. It’s God who has given us the knowledge to be able to treat afflictions. It’s God who heals and gives us breath. Praise and glory to God.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. LeLe

    We can live a life of gratitude when we constantly remember the sacrifice Jesus made for us. When we think of all the challenges and valleys He has brought us through how can you no cry tears of joy and gratefulness. Professionally, I spent over a decade at the beside of the young and old who were dying or died, that experience ingrained in me early on how fragile, precious life is and how short our time on this earth can be. I am just simply grateful to Go for His hand on my life. Acts 17:28 For in him we live and move and have our being

    Liked by 1 person

  3. TiraJ

    Amen! I thank my Heavenly Father first before anyone. Because if it wasn’t for him I would not be here today. When my daughter Ritia was about one, she and I had gotten pink eye. The medicine we got for it was too strong and we could barley see and our eyes had a thick film across them. I had asked my father to heal us. Even if I didnt receive all my sight allow me to see just a little,when I get older, if I have to use a cane or lose a limb allow me to walk just a little, if I lose my taste alow me to eat. He has done greater than that. I wear glasses, but I can see, I had a sever back injury not usin a cane anymore. When I had surgery a while ago, I had no taste and no desire to eat. I now can eat and have learned to eat in portions eating healtheier. I give him thanks daily. He has spared my life over and over again, I stopped counting. If it had not been for my Heavenly Father where and who would I be today?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Logan III

    I am Grateful to God that He saw it fit to make Pastor Trimble to be my M.O.G. [Man of God] and under Pastor’s teachings and leadership I can truly say that I am a Better Man for it. Gratefulness can be the key to open up opportunities to move you into Next Level Blessings and Breakthroughs. Oh give Thanks unto the Lord for He Is Good, He is also Rich in Grace and Mercy… I just want to Thank You Lord, God for all the many ways in which you Bless me and Enrich my Life and that Your Hand is on my Life for Good… I am Connected

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.