Keys to Moving Forward – Pastor Alton Trimble

Daily Word for Tuesday, September 1, 2015

Keys to moving forward - Final

1. Trust God with abandonment.

Proverb 3:5-6Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding; 6 In all your ways acknowledge Him, and He shall direct your paths.

2. Place and leave the past behind you; walk in the new.

Isaiah 43:18-19“Do not remember the former things, nor consider the things of old. 19Behold, I will do a new thing, now it shall spring forth; shall you not know it? I will even make a road in the wilderness and rivers in the desert.”

3. Take authority over fear.

Isaiah 43:1-5But now, thus says the LORD, who created you, O Jacob, and He who formed you, O Israel: “Fear not, for I have redeemed you; I have called you by your name; you are Mine. 2 When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and through the rivers, they shall not overflow you. When you walk through the fire, you shall not be burned, nor shall the flame scorch you. 3 For I am the LORD your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Savior; I gave Egypt for your ransom, Ethiopia and Seba in your place. 4 Since you were precious in My sight, you have been honored, and I have loved you; therefore I will give men for you, and people for your life. 5 Fear not, for I am with you; I will bring your descendants from the east, and gather you from the west.

4. Grow in being teachable.

Psalm 32:8 I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go; I will guide you with My eye.

5. Get a grip on what has a grip on you.

John 5:8Jesus said to him, “Rise, take up your bed and walk.”

6. Never ever stop pressing forward.

Philippians 3:12-14Not that I have already attained, or am already perfected; but I press on, that I may lay hold of that for which Christ Jesus has also laid hold of me. 13Brethren, I do not count myself to have apprehended; but one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind and reaching forward to those things which are ahead, 14I press toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.

7. Know your God hears and answers your prayers.

1 John 5:14-15Now this is the confidence that we have in Him, that if we ask anything according to His will, He hears us. 15 And if we know that He hears us, whatever we ask, we know that we have the petitions that we have asked of Him.

Take a moment to pray and ask God to show you which key is most important in this season of your life.

Peace and blessings!

4 thoughts on “Keys to Moving Forward – Pastor Alton Trimble

  1. Lord, I pray for an open heart to hear and learn as you teach me to trust you to direct my path. I will move forward and leave the past behind & look toward to the future, knowing you hear and answer prayers.

    Amen.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. La Wanda

    Every morning I wake up when , I’m meditating, I askthe Lord to direct my path for the day. I want to make sure that I don’t go left when I should be going right and I don’t go right when I should be going left! I don’t know so I need his Rod and staff to guide me. I also ask for guidance for my sons who are in college, for every member of my family, my pastor and his family, our leaders, And all the people in my life !

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Michael

    Amen.
    Paul talked a lot about finishing the race due to his time spent in the culture of the Greeks and gentiles. In order to finish the race you have to be moving forward toward the finish line. Only God knows the distance we have to run for He has measured the finish line in our lives. Therefore, we must run a race of endurance. I pace myself in the Word and prayer daily. I can testify that doing these two things helps me keep moving forward daily.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. LeLe

    PT has taught us to find a way everyday to move forward. Never allow people to hold you to your past. Overcoming fears in certain areas of my life is still a struggle for me. I am so thankful that with the Holy Spirit leading and guiding me, I am not paralyzed by my fears. I don’t know where I would me without God’s word teaching and strengthening me everyday. There is nothing like it. I stand on His word with confidence, knowing that my Lord hears me and will working everything out for my good and His time, which is always the right time. Amen

    Liked by 2 people

Comments are closed.