When Christ Strengthens You, Strengthen Your Brother Or Sister – Pastor Alton Trimble

Daily Word for Wednesday, September 2, 2015

When Christ Strengthens You

Luke 22:31-32And the Lord said, “Simon, Simon! Indeed, Satan has asked for you, that he may sift you as wheat. 32 But I have prayed for you, that your faith should not fail; and when you have returned to Me, strengthen your brethren.”

Christ shows us how to position ourselves with others He brings into our lives by the position He takes with Simon. Christ knew that Simon would fail before he actually did.

Jesus planned his restoration in advance. He warns him that Satan asked to sift him like wheat. We do well to remember that the enemy of our souls roams as a lion seeking to devour us if we are on the ‘menu.’

I Peter 5:8 says, “Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil walks about like a roaring lion, seeking whom he may devour.”

Christ’s antidote to the poison of the devil is revealed in verse 32; But I have prayed for you, that your faith should not fail; and when you have returned to Me, strengthen your brethren.

Jesus offers prayer as the antidote to Satan’s strategy of destruction where Simon is concerned. This offering is the result of Christ’s predisposition of restoration and forgiveness for Simon’s shortcoming.

We too can be predisposed to forgiveness and restoration related to people in our own lives. Imagine praying for your friends and loved ones that have a problem and then being in position to aid them once they have failed.

That is something most people would very much want done for them. It’s a show of love that would mimic no other than God Himself, according to Romans 5:8 [But God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us].

So let’s love like God loves; be predisposed toward forgiveness and restoration like God is and pray for those in our world as Christ did. I know God will be please!

Peace and blessings!

5 thoughts on “When Christ Strengthens You, Strengthen Your Brother Or Sister – Pastor Alton Trimble

  1. Amen Pastor Trimble!

    Forgiveness can be so challenging, but God has given us the tools to overcome. By loving us, before, after and during our sins, He has set such a great example for us. We shouldn’t have any excuses for not praying, forgiving and restoring others.

    Thank you Lord!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Michael

    Amen PT!
    I observe so many people in the world quick to point out sin and follow with judgement. It seems that the world places more importance on quoting the 10 commandments than sharing the good news and redemption through accepting Jesus. We don’t have a judgement seat. While others may feel that pointing out sin and quoting Scripture are ways to correct a brother or sister who has sinned, I share the good news of forgiveness through our Lord and Savior, Jesus. Compassion and prayer are the ways we can strengthen our brothers and sisters. You don’t have to be perfect or have everything in order to come to Him.

    I pray God gives me the compassion not to judge and brow beat, but to share the good news of our Lord. I want to strengthen people daily!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. raineawarren

    Thank you Heavenly Father for strengthening me and giving me the mindset of forgiveness and compassion as it has helped me deal with difficulties I’ve faced with my Family. I pray daily for Our restoration.

    Mean while, I’ve picked up the Blood Stain Banner and I’m committed to being that Soldier for Christ! I’ve been making crosses daily, as Pastor Trimble instructed us, reaching out to my brothers/sisters hurting. I realize we’re All going through something…Praying for their(my) restoration as they learn of Christ’s gifts of Love, Grace, Forgiveness and that GOD’S GIFTS should be Reciprocated. We are our brother’s keeper! Amen!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. LeLe

    I have struggled all day not to post, because of how hard it is to forgive when you have been deeply hurt. I have found out there is so much freedom and liberty in forgiveness. I am so thankful my relationship with the Holy Spirit has helped me to forgive others so that I may be forgiven and receive the grace and mercy that I need.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.