When Jesus Prays For You – Pastor Alton Trimble

Daily Word for Thursday, September 3, 2015

When Jesus Prays For You - Final

Luke 22:32But I have prayed for you, that your faith should not fail; and when you have returned to Me, strengthen your brethren.

The veracity or efficacy of a prayer is largely influenced by the person praying. We want specific people to pray for our deep concerns because we sense something about their lives.

In instructing His disciples concerning praying, Christ offers His own name as the reference they should use when praying to God, the Father in John 14:13-14, John 15:16 and John 16:23-24.

John 14:13-14And whatever you ask in My name, that I will do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son. 14 If you ask anything in My name, I will do it.

John 15:16You did not choose Me, but I chose you and appointed you that you should go and bear fruit, and that your fruit should remain, that whatever you ask the Father in My name He may give you.

John 16:23-24And in that day you will ask Me nothing. Most assuredly, I say to you, whatever you ask the Father in My name He will give you. 24 Until now you have asked nothing in My name. Ask, and you will receive, that your joy may be full.

This suggests to us that His station in life was such that God, recognizing the same, would answer the prayer based on His merit alone.

In the Word of God, Jesus has no fewer than 143 names and titles given Him, none of which are honorary designations.

Jesus, who prays for Simon and thereby for you and me, is God, the Son so we should not be surprised when He:

• Changed water in wine – John 2

• Cleansed the lepers – Luke 5

• Healed the paralyzed man – Luke 5

• Raised the widow’s son – Luke 7

• Calmed the sea with His words – Matthew 8

• Raised Jairus’ daughter – Mark 5

• Stopped the 12-year issue the woman had – Luke 8

• Opened the blind eyes – Luke 9

• Walked on water – Matthew 14:25

• Raised Lazarus – John 11

• Resurrected Himself – Luke 24

I could continue for pages discussing His exploits but from these few honorable mentions, I think we begin to understand that as Christ prayed for us that prayer was answered.

So what did Christ pray for us? That our faith should not fail.

You see my friend, God is not measuring our faith by “knock downs” but by “get ups”! The world counts your knock downs; faith counts your get ups.

To the world you are an ‘X” something; to faith you are:

• More than a conqueror.

• Partakers of the Divine nature.

• Chosen by God.

• His very own Ambassador.

• The Righteousness of God in Christ.

My dear sister and brother, Jesus prayed that our faith would overcome our failures and He did that knowing when, where, why and how we would fail.

Jesus prayed you’d have fail-proof faith; get up and take the grace and mercy He has given you and walk in it.

Peace and blessings!

5 thoughts on “When Jesus Prays For You – Pastor Alton Trimble

  1. La Wanda

    I am so excited, when I read the word. Sometimes I want to just give up on what I’m going through right now, but then I remember all the times that God has come through! My prayer today for all of us is that we will be like that tree that it’s planted by the rivers of water . No matter which way the wind blows we will not be moved! We will trust God amen

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Michael

    Amen!
    Thank the Lord that He intercedes for us daily. Faith has been poured out on us who believe, so I pray that my faith doesn’t waiver no matter what the enemy tries.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Thank the Lord that He doesn’t count our knock downs like the world does, but our Get Ups!!. So we have the encouragement of new days and new opportunities that we can leave our yesterdays behind and look forward to what He has in front us.
    Thanks Pastor.

    Liked by 2 people

Comments are closed.