When You Are Strong, Strengthen Others – Pastor Alton Trimble

Daily Word for Friday, September 4, 2015

When you are strong, strengthen others.

Luke 22:32“But I have pleaded in prayer for you, Simon, that your faith should not fail. So when you have repented and turned to Me again, strengthen your brothers.”

In the text above, Jesus declares that He “pleaded in prayer” for Simon that Simon’s “faith should not fail.” Christ goes on to say to Simon that when he had “repented and turned to Me again, strengthen your brothers.”

God, knowing Simon would fail, provides him a roadmap to restoration. After failure, Simon’s first stop would be at the rest stop of Repentance.

To repent simply means to change your mind or turn around. I John 1:8-10 is clear on our need to, from time to time, stop at Repentance; [If we claim we have no sin, we are only fooling ourselves and not living in the truth. 9 But if we confess our sins to him, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all wickedness. 10 If we claim we have not sinned, we are calling God a liar and showing that his word has no place in our hearts.]

God graciously invites us to repent in I John 1:9; [But if we confess our sins to him, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all wickedness.]

There is nothing that can stop you from coming to God in repentance. He is waiting with open arms. When we repent, we turn again to God. II Chronicles 7:14 says, “Then if my people who are called by my name will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, I will hear from heaven and will forgive their sins and restore their land.”

Isaiah 55:7 says, “Let the wicked change their ways and banish the very thought of doing wrong. Let them turn to the LORD that he may have mercy on them. Yes, turn to our God, for he will forgive generously. After we have been strengthen, Christ invites us to strengthen our brothers or sisters; to help them become stable; resolute in their walk with God.”

Galatians 6:2 says, “Share each other’s burdens, and in this way obey the law of Christ.”

Colossians 3:16 further says, “Let the message about Christ, in all its richness, fill your lives. Teach and counsel each other with all the wisdom he gives. Sing psalms and hymns and spiritual songs to God with thankful hearts.”

My friend, find someone you can partner with and make to be what Christ was to Simon to them. Your Father will be smiling.

Peace and blessings!

8 thoughts on “When You Are Strong, Strengthen Others – Pastor Alton Trimble

  1. I strongly believe that some people only need a little encouragement to get going. I try to encourage people everyday, it’s very simple once you put your mind to it. I will continue to strengthen others and let them draw from my strength. Lord let me recognize those that need my assistance and those that need help with being strengthened, Father keep me mindful so that I always use Your words and not my own. Let Your will be done, in Jesus name. Amen!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. lori

    Amen PT good word. We should try and encourage, appreciate, and uplift someone daily. You never know what your one word may mean to someone. A simple “you look very nice today, God bless you!” could be life changing for someone.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Paul & Barbara Taylor

    God please hear the cries of those who feel overwhelmed as they serve you. Many of them don’t feel your presence right now in their lives. Remind them of your faithfulness.thank you for your consistency. Thank you for hearing my cries no matter where I am. In Jesus name ,amen. Thank you P. T. For your love for God people’s . !!!!!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. LeLe

    As Christians we have a responsibility to genuinely care for the well being of each other. I pray for God’s discernment and ask Him to show me those who I can strengthen and encourage through my time, talent, and treasure. We all will have times and moments in our lives when we will need a reminder of God’s infallible, indestructible, incorruptible and inherent word. Some of life’s greatest rewards and joy comes from caring and loving on others. Amen

    Like

  5. Logan III

    This Devotional plays itself out in my Life every day. Luke 22:31- 32[LBIII version] says. “And the Lord said, “Logan, Logan! Indeed, Satan has asked for you, that he may sift you as wheat. But I have Pleaded in Prayer for you, Logan that your Faith should not Fail. So when you have repented and returned to Me again, Strengthen your Brothers.” In 2006, God gave me revelation on that Scripture, I have been running with the Vision ever since. This past Tuesday was my 8th year back at GCFI, I am in the 10th year of God Delivering me from myself. God prepared me for His plan for my Life; even when I wasn’t listening to a thing He had to say to me. Then one day God said, “ Logan, that’s enough of living that way, I have need of you” God delivered me from dry places and He helped me to get my Life back in order, then He commissioned me to Strengthen the Brethren. I take this assignment seriously, because I want to Honor God in my Life for all that He has done from me and I have to share it. Yes, I am my Brother’s Keeper…

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.