Passing the “Salt” and Changing Our World – Pastor Alton Trimble

Daily Word for Saturday, September 5, 2015

Passing the Salt and Changing Our World

Matthew 5:13“You are the salt of the earth. But what good is salt if it has lost its flavor? Can you make it salty again? It will be thrown out and trampled underfoot as worthless.”

Matthew 28:18-20Jesus came and told his disciples, “I have been given all authority in heaven and on earth. 19 Therefore, go and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and the Son and the Holy Spirit. 20 Teach these new disciples to obey all the commands I have given you. And be sure of this: I am with you always, even to the end of the age.”

The two texts above speak to our responsibility as world changers. One of the reasons we are here in the earth realm is to be God’s witnesses; to share His love; to build His family.

There are principles we can observe that will aid us in having and maintaining a mindset conducive to being effective in reaching the lost for Christ.

The Law of the Imperative is one such principle. Matthew 28: 18-20 is often referred to as ‘The Great Commission.” The word “Commission” means a special assignment that is given to a person or group; it is the act of granting authority to undertake certain functions.

Witnessing is a duty of the believer, given by Christ Jesus, sanctioned by the Father (I always do what pleases Him) and empowered by the Holy Spirit.

True followers of Christ become what He is; Matthew 4:18-20 [One day as Jesus was walking along the shore of the Sea of Galilee, he saw two brothers—Simon, also called Peter, and Andrew—throwing a net into the water, for they fished for a living. 19 Jesus called out to them, “Come, follow me, and I will show you how to fish for people!” 20 And they left their nets at once and followed him.].

Christ wants all to know Him so we tell everyone according to Mark 16:15 [And then he told them, “Go into all the world and preach the Good News to everyone].

Thank God our chief support system is the Holy Spirit who empowers us for this assignment; Acts 1:4-8 [Once when he was eating with them, he commanded them, “Do not leave Jerusalem until the Father sends you the gift he promised, as I told you before. 5 John baptized with water, but in just a few days you will be baptized with the Holy Spirit.” So when the apostles were with Jesus, they kept asking him, “Lord, has the time come for you to free Israel and restore our kingdom?” 7 He replied, “The Father alone has the authority to set those dates and times, and they are not for you to know. 8 But you will receive power when the Holy Spirit comes upon you. And you will be my witnesses, telling people about me everywhere—in Jerusalem, throughout Judea, in Samaria, and to the ends of the earth].

The responsibility must be viewed as an imperative; Matthew 28:18-20 [Jesus came and told his disciples, “I have been given all authority in heaven and on earth. 19 Therefore, go and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and the Son and the Holy Spirit. 20 Teach these new disciples to obey all the commands I have given you. And be sure of this: I am with you always, even to the end of the age.”]

Mark 13:10For the Good News must first be preached to all nations.

It is the fruit we were chosen to produce; John 15:16 [You didn’t choose me. I chose you. I appointed you to go and produce lasting fruit, so that the Father will give you whatever you ask for, using my name].

Yet some that are sent never went. We are not like them; when God calls we are like Isaiah in Isaiah 6:8 where he responds to God’s calling by saying, “Here I am. Send me.”

My friend, God is counting on you to go. See it as a must do. Allow the Holy Spirit to empower you and begin changing your world. Christ is all you need!

Peace and blessings!

3 thoughts on “Passing the “Salt” and Changing Our World – Pastor Alton Trimble

  1. I love this message and believe it’s one of the most powerful yet. We can go to church and bible study all we want but if we’re not practicing the Great Commission then I believe we’re not on the track we’re on the treadmill. We’re just running in place. Winning the Lost, Discipling the found, and sending the disciple is where it’s at. Witnesses testify so the more we witness the more testimony we’ll have. Father I thank You right now in the mighty name of Jesus for this reminder of my purpose here on earth. Send me Father I’ll go! Keep me focused on You Lord, let Your will be done in my life today and everyday! Amen!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Michael

    Amen!
    Great message for today. We must not go through our daily routine without looking to “Win, Disciple and Send.” We have to listen for the Holy Spirit as He will speak to us and lead us on who to reach.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.