The Principle of Divine Evidence – Pastor Alton Trimble

Daily Word for Sunday, September 6, 2015

The Principle of Divine Evidence

The best evidence is a good witness. As believers, our belief is evidence of our capacity to witness and therefore is essential to effective witnessing.

II Corinthians 4:13 says, “And since we have the same spirit of faith, according to what is written, “I believed and therefore I spoke,” we also believe and therefore speak.”

Note that believing and speaking are connected; every day of our lives we spend speaking what we believe. Our witness includes our testimony of what God has done for us.

Psalm 107:2 says, “Let the redeemed of the Lord say so whom He has redeemed from the hand of the enemy.”

Telling what we have experienced is at the heart of witnessing, on that subject we are experts. No one can successfully argue against your experience. We do well to remember what’s at stake.

• Captives are freed.

Proverbs 14:25A true witness delivers souls but a deceitful witness speaks lies.

• Light shines in dark places.

Acts 26:18to open their eyes, in order to turn them from darkness to light, and from the power of Satan to God, that they may receive forgiveness of sins and an inheritance among those who are sanctified by faith in Me.

• Lives are saved.

James 5:20Let him know that he who turns a sinner from the error of his way will save a soul from death and cover a multitude of sins.

Clearly the consequences of not witnessing are far reaching. Ezekiel 3:17-19 says, “Son of man, I have made you a watchman for the house of Israel; therefore hear a word from My mouth, and give them warning from Me: 18 When I say to the wicked, ‘You shall surely die,’ and you give him no warning, nor speak to warn the wicked from his wicked way, to save his life, that same wicked man shall die in his iniquity; but his blood I will require at your hand. 19 Yet, if you warn the wicked, and he does not turn from his wickedness, nor from his wicked way, he shall die in his iniquity; but you have delivered your soul.”

What follows are a few thoughts to help you be an effective witness:

• Be faithful.

Acts 20:26-27Therefore I testify to you this day that I am innocent of the blood of all men. 27 For I have not shunned to declare to you the whole counsel of God.

• Be bold.

Mark 8:38For whoever is ashamed of Me and My words in this adulterous and sinful generation, of him the Son of Man also will be ashamed when He comes in the glory of His Father with the holy angels.”

• Be resolute.

Luke 12:8-9 “Also I say to you, whoever confesses Me before men, him the Son of Man also will confess before the angels of God. 9 But he who denies Me before men will be denied before the angels of God.”

• Be compelled.

I Corinthians 9:16Yet preaching the Good News is not something I can boast about. I am compelled by God to do it. How terrible for me if I didn’t preach the Good News!

Dear friend, remember the price has already been paid, don’t hold back what has been freely given to you!

II Corinthians 4:13And since we have the same spirit of faith, according to what is written, “I believed and therefore I spoke,” we also believe and therefore speak.

Peace and blessings!

3 thoughts on “The Principle of Divine Evidence – Pastor Alton Trimble

  1. Michael

    Amen PT
    Freely it’s been given to us, so we must freely give (Matthew 10:8). One of my favorite songs I listen to almost every morning is “I’ll be a witness”. This helps start my day off reminding me to pray that God uses me and shows me who May need a witness for His glory.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. LeLe

    It’s important to pray and ask God to show us who we should witness to and for Him to give the right words for each person we share our faith with. We overcome by the blood of the lamb and the words of our testimony. It is our Christian responsibility to witness.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks PT,
    This is freeing. People see me smiling all the time especially on my job. You can tell a person how wonderful it is to be saved by telling them how God has recently brought you through a situation or circumstance. It plants the seed of salvation. 😇
    Meaning you don’t necessarily have to hit them over the head with a whole lot of scripture. Especially, when you’ve seen the coworker you’ve been praying for salvation blatantly reject Christ when the postman gave her Christian tract. She was offended and she expressed that to me after he left. I’m going to keep praying & allow the Holy Spirit to lead me. I gave testimony of how God brought me through when my mom passed but….nothing. Pray with me saints for Louise’s salvation. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.