God’s Joy Is Your Strength – Pastor Alton Trimble

Daily Word for Wednesday, September 9, 2015

God’s Joy Is Your Strength

The Greek word for “joy” in the New Testament is “chara” and it means cheerfulness, calm delight; gladness multiplied greatly; to be exceedingly full of joy. This joy has its origin in the Spirit of God.

Natural joy is achievable but not sustainable; happiness is dependent on happenings. Biblical joy is a way of living; a perspective in processing the believer has in the circumstances of life.

James 1:2 says, “Count it all joy, my brothers, when you meet trials of various kinds.”

Philippians 4:4 says, “Rejoice in the Lord always; again I will say, rejoice.”

You see, sustainable joy is eternal and comes from God alone. Romans 15:13 says, “May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that by the power of the Holy Spirit you may abound in hope.”

This joy can be connected to our request of God. John 16:24 further says, “Until now you have asked nothing in my name. Ask, and you will receive, that your joy may be full.”

The Bible describes the Kingdom of God in Romans 14:17 as “righteousness and peace and joy in the Holy Spirit.”

Spiritual joy has medicinal qualities according to Proverbs 17:22 [A joyful heart is good medicine, but a crushed spirit dries up the bones].

Believers can have an expectation of obtaining joy according to Proverbs 10:28 [The hope of the righteous brings joy, but the expectation of the wicked will perish].

The presence of God is the place of joy; Psalm 16:11 [You make known to me the path of life; in your presence there is fullness of joy; at your right hand are pleasures forevermore].

Maintaining joy requires us to do three things:

1. Rejoice

Philippians 4:4Rejoice in the Lord always; again I will say, rejoice.

2. Relax

Philippians 4:5Let your reasonableness be known to everyone. The Lord is at hand.

3. Rest

Philippians 4:7And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

Worry always seeks to offset joy; they will not coexist! Living in the place of joy is learned behavior; Philippians 4:11 says, “Not that I am speaking of being in need, for I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content.” Note the term, “I have learned.”

My friend, go to God today and ask Him to teach you the blessings of living in joy. Remember it is a process so be patient with yourself!

Peace and blessings!

5 thoughts on “God’s Joy Is Your Strength – Pastor Alton Trimble

  1. Michael

    Amen!
    In my life there are rare circumstances where I worry and I know that’s not from God. I have to ask God for His peace.

    Thank you Pastor for outlining these versus for us related to Spiritual joy. Reading the Word is so important because it contains everything we need for any situation life throws at us.

    Like

  2. I think we all experience worry, the key is how process it. I rebuke it within 5 to 10 seconds because I know it’s not from our camp! Once I recognize that anything is not from our camp I dismiss it. Another great word and lesson from you P.T., all glory and honor to you Heavenly Father!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Teri Allard

    Amen! It’s so easy to forget where real joy comes from. The world can create so many distractions that cause us to lose focus. It’s a constant battle as I try not to worry and learn to live place of Joy. Thank you God for carrying me through!

    Like

  4. raineawarren

    Yes Pastor this lesson is easier say then done. Staying in the WORD and Your Daily Word on a daily basis has helped me tremendously. The stresses of the world do come to still ones Joy…but I’m staying focused and debuking all unpleasantries…Daily. Thank you Heavenly Father and Pastor for the Words of Wisdom that gives me the strength and Grace to carry on. Hallelujah!

    Like

Comments are closed.