Peace That Surpasses Understanding – Pastor Alton Trimble

Daily Word for Thursday, September 10, 2015

Peace That Surpasses Understanding

The Greek word for “peace” in the New Testament, Eirene, means peace, prosperity, quietness, rest or to be set at one with yourself again. The Bible uses this word for peace when it refers to peace as the fruit of the Spirit.

The way in which I respond to my life issues and the life issues of those around me is an influencing factor in the level of peace that I am able to appropriate.

Philippians 4:6-7 says, “Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. 7 And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”

We have responsibility with the blessing God gives. We’ve got to find our replenishing places and things, manage our resources and focus our minds; Romans 8:6 [For to set the mind on the flesh is death, but to set the mind on the Spirit is life and peace].

Through practice, peace can become a lifestyle. II Thessalonians 3:16 says, “Now may the Lord of peace himself give you peace at all times in every way. The Lord be with you all.”

Your peace acquisition strategy is simple. I Peter 5:7 says, “Casting all your anxieties on him, because he cares for you.”

Difficult times occur in everyone’s life but they can never negate our peace; they amplify it. John 16:33 says, “I have said these things to you, that in me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world.”

Dr. Schuller said, “Tough times never last, but tough people do.” In the midst of seasons of challenge, find something to celebrate, to be grateful for and to be thankful for.

Consider the following four observations for maintaining peace in your life:

1. A clean conscience is the foundation for building peace.

I Peter 3:11Let him turn away from evil and do good; let him seek peace and pursue it.

2. Proactively steering your relationships in the direction of peace.

Romans 12:18If possible, so far as it depends on you, live peaceably with all.

Hebrews 12:14Strive for peace with everyone, and for the holiness without which no one will see the Lord.

3. Living out what you know from the Word of God brings peace.

Philippians 4:9What you have learned and received and heard and seen in me—practice these things, and the God of peace will be with you.

4. View peace as a covenant reality.

Isaiah 54:10“For the mountains may depart and the hills be removed, but my steadfast love shall not depart from you, and my covenant of peace shall not be removed,” says the LORD, who has compassion on you.

Right now take a deep breath, calm yourself and experience the peace of God. Ask God to teach you the ways of peace and live in what you learn.

Peace and blessings!

9 thoughts on “Peace That Surpasses Understanding – Pastor Alton Trimble

  1. Michael

    Amen PT
    Peace gives me clarity and the ability to hear the Word of God. I believe peace is the key to good health. Today is a good word for personal reflection.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. La Wanda

    I needed this word so much this morning. I have been trying to remain peaceful in my trial. I know deep in my spirit Godvis going to show up and show out. However; sometimes I get weary. The word gives me peace, and hope!

    Liked by 3 people

  3. If anyone missed Bible Study last night I encourage you to get the tape. This so ties in with it. Peace is what we all need to seek after. One of the things Pastor shared was, “Let your inner calm be your intercom for hearing from God”. So true ! I gotta shut the committee down in my head that tries to have me focusing on everything but… hearing from God. God and seeking God brings inner calm… Peace.

    Like

Comments are closed.