Let Your Patience Show Itself – Pastor Alton Trimble

Daily Word for Friday, September 11, 2015

Let Your Patience Show Itself

A common statement used to describe our relationship with patience is, “Lord, I want patience and I want it right now.”

The Chinese bamboo tree follows this pattern of growth:

• Plant the seed, water and fertilize during the 1st year; nothing.

• 2nd year – water and fertilize it, still nothing; no sign of life coming through the earth.

• 3rd and 4th year, water and fertilize…nothing.

• During the course of the 5th year, in a period of about 6 weeks, this bamboo tree grows to a height of approximately 90ft.

Question: Did it grow 90ft in 6 months or 5 years? Answer: It took 5 years with the attention to caring for the unseen tree to grow.

So when do people begin to develop patience? One answer could be, at the point of the new birth.

Daily we encounter enemies to the growth of patience in our lives. It is impossible to produce this or any fruit of the Spirit without the help of the Spirit of God.

Colossians 1:10-11 says, “Then the way you live will always honor and please the Lord, and your lives will produce every kind of good fruit. All the while, you will grow as you learn to know God better and better. 11 We also pray that you will be strengthened with all his glorious power so you will have all the endurance and patience you need. May you be filled with joy.”

Phillip Brooks said it this way:

“Do not pray for easy lives.
Pray to be stronger men (women)!
Do not pray for task equal to your power;
Pray for power equal to your task.
Then the doing of your work shall be no miracle but you shall be a miracle.
Every day you shall wonder at yourself, at the richness of life which has come to you by the grace of God.”

Lack of patience impacts our ability to appropriate forgiveness and mercy at appropriate times.

While waiting for my car that was being repaired, becoming impatient I went to the counter to give ‘those people’ a piece of my mind. When I got there, I looked up at the wall and saw a sign that said, “Life is what happens to you after you have made all your plans.”

Realizing no one was actually at fault, I had to also realize my need for patience.

Meditate on James 1:1-4 today and allow God to help you find the fruit of patience.

James 1:1-4 – This letter is from James, a slave of God and of the Lord Jesus Christ. I am writing to the “twelve tribes”—Jewish believers scattered abroad. Greetings! 2 Dear brothers and sisters, when troubles of any kind come your way, consider it an opportunity for great joy. 3 For you know that when your faith is tested, your endurance has a chance to grow. 4 So let it grow, for when your endurance is fully developed, you will be perfect and complete, needing nothing.

Peace and blessings!

5 thoughts on “Let Your Patience Show Itself – Pastor Alton Trimble

  1. Michael

    Amen.
    Admittedly this is an area in my life I am praying for daily. Having patience is difficult when a driver cuts you off, or the homeless man yells at you to go away when you are led to try to help him. I aponder on the quote above by Phillip Brooks as he is in essence saying pray for God to grant us strength so that by Him (not on our own) we can overcome the daily trials.
    I am reminded on how much wisdom the book of James contains. Thank you PT for this word today, the examples and versus.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Patience is something I’ve become a lot better at since coming to Glory. Worrying or being impatient won’t make things manifest so I stand on God’s word and promise daily with James 1:2 & 1Peter 4:12. Those two scriptures always work for me. Excellent word today!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. La Wanda

    When I get anxious act impetuously the outcome is usually bad. However when I wait, and have patience the outcome is usually good. That’s why I am learning and growing to have more patience to get better outcomes.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. raineawarren

    Thanks Pastor, this touches my heart… When I was very young, I remember my Mother teaching me the Golden Rule: “Do unto others as you would have them do unto you”, “LOVE everybody (thy neighbor) as you Love yourself and that “Patience is a VIRTUE”. “Keep these things in your heart and you’ll be my Blessed Child”. WOW! These things manifested in LOVE, I saw her model it everyday with our family, friends, neighbors and community. I am truly blessed as I adhere to her words in my daily walk, I feel it’s innate. If we would exercise these simply verses from our hearts everyday, “What a Wonderful World” this could be! (Louis Armstrong) GOD BLESS US!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.