The World Is In Need Of Kindness – Pastor Alton Trimble

Daily Word for Saturday, September 12, 2015

The World Is In Need Of Kindness

The idea of kindness is, for the most part, in stark contrast to our current culture. In fact, in many circles it is thought of as a weakness or disadvantage many hold to the ‘shark tank’ mentality.

We refer to our elite athletes as ‘assassins’; public personalities are celebrated for being crass and obnoxious. In fact, the louder and more shocking, the greater their value.

We live in a 24-hour news cycle that subscribes to the core value that, “if it bleeds, it leads.”

Christ is the greatest example of kindness; past, present and future. He embodies kindness in life and ministry. He was and is the ultimate expression of kindness. Because of His kindness, His presence was sought after by adults and children alike.

Kindness attracts people! Our goal as believers is to be as kind to others as Christ has been to us.

Kindness is a sign of greatness; not weakness. Imagine the world without the influence of the spiritual fruit of kindness. Because of the impact of Christ, widows, orphans, homeless and sick or poor people have comfort, relief, help and hope around the world.

I love the poem by Henry Burton:

Have you had a kindness shown?
Pass it on, pass it on!
‘Twas not giv’n for thee alone,
Pass it on, pass it on!
Let it travel down the years,
Let it wipe another’s tears;
Till in heav’n the deed appears,
Pass it on, pass it on!

God models the shape our kindness should take with scriptures like:

Matthew 5:45In that way, you will be acting as true children of your Father in heaven. For he gives his sunlight to both the evil and the good, and he sends rain on the just and the unjust alike.

Psalm 103:6-7The LORD gives righteousness and justice to all who are treated unfairly. 7 He revealed his character to Moses and his deeds to the people of Israel.

It was the kindness of God that brought us to repentance; Romans 2:4 [Don’t you see how wonderfully kind, tolerant, and patient God is with you? Does this mean nothing to you? Can’t you see that His kindness is intended to turn you from your sin?]

Allow the following poem to be your prayer request for today and allow God to answer it through you:

Let me be a little kinder,
Let me be a little blinder
To the faults of those around me,
Let me praise a little more;
Let me be, when I am weary
Just a little bit more cheery,
Let me serve a little better
Those that I am striving for.

Let me be a little braver
When temptation bids me waver,
Let me strive a little harder
To be all that I should be;
Let me be a little meeker
With the brother that is weaker,
Let me think more of my neighbor
And a little less of me.

Peace and blessings!

4 thoughts on “The World Is In Need Of Kindness – Pastor Alton Trimble

  1. Michael

    Amen PT
    The world we live in, politicians and even in some of my business dealings, rudeness and cunning often gets the most attention. But in the end kindness always prevails. Kindness requires patience.

    Like

  2. LeLe

    There is so much joy and rewards in being kind and showing kindness to one another. I smile when I can make somebody else smile or when a small act of kindness make life a little easier and a little better for others. Blessed to be a blessing.

    Like

  3. The word of God will penetrate and produce His kind if we have ears to hear and hearts to receive. I did. Thank you God for using Pastor to deliver this message. Let a movement of your kindness abound. In Jesus name. Amen.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.