God’s Goodness – Pastor Alton Trimble

Daily Word for Sunday, September 13, 2015

God’s Goodness

John Wesley wrote this statement: “Do all the good you can. By all the means you can. In all the ways you can. In all the places you can. At all the times you can. To all the people you can. As long as ever you can.”  We would do well to follow these words daily.

I want you to look at God’s goodness as evidenced by the following:

1. He corrects and teaches us.

Psalm 25:8The LORD is good and does what is right; He shows the proper path to those who go astray.

2. He has filled the earth with His goodness.

Psalm 35:5 – He loves righteousness and justice; the earth is full of the goodness of the LORD.

3. He has been tried, tested and proven to be good.

Psalm 34:8Taste and see that the LORD is good. Oh, the joys of those who take refuge in him!

4. What He does is good.

Psalm 119:38Reassure me of your promise, made to those who fear you.

5. He responds to trouble in a way that only He can.

Nahum 1:7The LORD is good, a strong refuge when trouble comes. He is close to those who trust in him.

6. His goodness brings us to repentance.

Romans 2:4Or do you despise the riches of His goodness, forbearance, and longsuffering, not knowing that the goodness of God leads you to repentance?

7. He makes His goodness available to us in the land of the living.

Psalm 27:13I would have lost heart, unless I had believed that I would see the goodness of the LORD In the land of the living.

8. He is good to everyone.

Psalm 145:9The LORD is good to all, and His tender mercies are over all His works.

9. He is manifested as goodness in the testimony of others.

Psalm 23:1-6 The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want. 2 He makes me to lie down in green pastures; He leads me beside the still waters. 3 He restores my soul; He leads me in the paths of righteousness for His name’s sake. 4 Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil; for You are with me; Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me. 5 You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies; You anoint my head with oil;  My cup runs over. 6 Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life; and I will dwell in the house of the LORD Forever.

10. He stimulates courage in those who think of His goodness.

I Samuel 17:37 Moreover David said, “The LORD, who delivered me from the paw of the lion and from the paw of the bear, He will deliver me from the hand of this Philistine.” And Saul said to David, “Go, and the LORD be with you!”

Today, feast on thoughts of God’s goodness and receive courage to move forward in every detail of your life.

Peace and blessings!

3 thoughts on “God’s Goodness – Pastor Alton Trimble

  1. Lord I thank for Your grace and mercy that I truly don’t deserve. Continue to allow me to feast on Your goodness today and everyday! Father keep me focused on You while You give me divine direction and guide my footsteps. Send to me Father those You want me to share Your goodness with. In Jesus nsme, Amen!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Michael

    Amen PT
    God’s goodness and grace can be seen all around us everyday. We serve a good God who cares enough to help us day by day.

    God’s goodness is the message we should be proclaiming to the world everyday.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.