The Fruit of Gentleness – Pastor Alton Trimble

Daily Word for Wednesday, September 16, 2015

The Fruit of Gentleness2

Gentleness is not weakness; meekness in truth is the result of God’s empowerment of faith energized by His Word.

Christ describes Himself as humble and gentle in heart; Matthew 11:29 [Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls]. Yet His life was not marked by weakness or indifference to others.

Wild animals can be trained; one, however, must never forget they are yet capable of all they did in the wild.

Christ chose to not reveal in full release His power and resource yet they were there all the time.

Humility is viewed by most as desirable but not attractive. Our “shark tank” mindset encourages a more aggressive approach to processing life’s issues. While we want to have enough humility to get to heaven, we don’t feel it plays well in life’s day to day requirements.

It is somehow spineless and unintellectual to abandon defense of what is perceived as your rights. History actually seems to take the reverse course if we follow the lives of Moses, Jesus Christ, Lincoln, Gandhi, Einstein, Martin Luther King or Mother Teresa. These are those who learned to put their very lives on the line to create a better world and life for their contemporaries and posterities. To accomplish what they did requires the toughest kind of confidence and freedom.

You see, meekness is shaped by our attitude toward God, not man. When our attitude toward God is meek, it will be the same toward others. God gives us, through His resource of meekness, the kind of solid force that enables us to stand in adversity and do the will of God in the face of great challenge.

Some think this to be one of the rarest of all the distinctive Christian graces. The Word of God bears that out in I Peter 3:4 [rather let it be the hidden person of the heart, with the incorruptible beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is very precious in the sight of God].

So the person who is gentled by God is a person who is directed by God. Therefore, meekness will always have an appropriate response.

Gentleness is actually leadership at its best and Christ pronounced a blessing upon the meek in Matthew 5:5 [Blessed are the meek, for they shall inherit the earth]. The word here used for meekness does not connote weakness but rather it denotes strength brought under control.

So Christians then are those people who are allowing the Spirit of God to channel their strength into His plan and purpose for their lives.

My friend, give God control right now of what you have been attempting to control and get ready for the ride of your life!

Peace and blessings!

6 thoughts on “The Fruit of Gentleness – Pastor Alton Trimble

  1. Father thank You for today’s daily word, continue to make my attitude meek towards You and others. Never let me take my eyes off of You and Your purpose for my life. Allow to be gentle in every area of my life, in Jesus name. Amen

    Liked by 2 people

  2. La Wanda

    Meekness is what I try to practice every day! I have been accused of being too nice and too soft, but I usually have the victory from my meekness. People are always amazed

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Michael

    Amen PT!
    It takes more strength and trust in God to be meek and to show restraint as Jesus did than to be aggressive. God, I give you control and thank you for what you’re doing in my life.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. raineawarren

    Amen Pastor
    I too have had folks take my kindness for weakness (meekness, humility), however…Thanks to my Heavenly Father for strengthened my tender heart through the years as Matthew 5:5 says: “BLESSED are the MEEK, for they shall Inherit the Earth” (Kingdom of Heaven). YES! Again thank you Father for the many Blessings and Grace you continue to show me… Day In and Day Out! Hallelujah!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.