Get Wisdom

By Pastor Alton Trimble

Manna For Today: Saturday, October 3, 2015

Get Wisdom

Proverbs 1 opens with instruction as it relates to the purposes of the Book. It suggests these purposes are as follows:

1. “…to teach people wisdom and discipline, to help them understand the insight of the wise.”

2. “…to teach people to live disciplined and successful lives, to help them do what is right, just and fair.”

3. “…to give insight to the simple, knowledge and discernment to the young.”

In Proverbs 1:5-7 there is an encouragement to:

• “Be wise and listen to these proverbs and become even wiser.”

Further “those who possess understanding will receive guidance.”

Proverbs 1:6 says the above is accomplished by “exploring the meaning in these proverbs and parables; the word of the wise and their riddles.”

This portion of Proverbs 1 ends with the admonition that the “fear of the Lord is the foundation of true knowledge but fools despise wisdom and discipline.”

Today, consider the goals of the Book of wisdom as you read the remainder of Proverbs 1; ask God to give you the wisdom and understanding to fight the right fights and say the right things.

Peace and blessings!

3 thoughts on “Get Wisdom

  1. La Wanda

    I don’t always ask for wisdom everyday, but I will make sure I’m more consistent with asking. Proverbs is my favorite book, in the bible. I’m constantly encouraging my sins to read for wisdom.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Michael

    Amen PT
    This is a good word and something I’ve included as part of my daily prayers. I always pray for Gods wisdom especially at my place of work so that I can give Him all the honor and glory.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.