Remember To Stand!

By Pastor Alton Trimble

Manna For Today: Tuesday, October 6, 2015

Remember The Things You Learned!

Today’s scripture reading: Proverbs 3

The text in Proverbs 3 opens with two “never”s so we do well to attend to their instruction.

• “Never forget the things I have taught you” [verse 1] and “never let loyalty and kindness leave you” [verse 3].

How much suffering has come into and remains in the world as a result of what we have forgotten or allowed?

How different would our lives be had we not forgotten, whether intentional or accident, critical instruction given to us by any number of people?

What value system in our lives have we allowed to slip from not up for compromise to total compromise?

Take a moment to write down three things you were taught that continue to shape your life today.

If you have discounted loyalty or neglected kindness, take the time today to reboot your commitment to these two vital issues.

If there are bridges in need of mending don’t hesitate to make those corrections; you’ll be healing more people than you know!

Peace and blessing!

6 thoughts on “Remember To Stand!

  1. Thank You Lord for the wonderful reminder to keep me kind and loyal. Please Sir if You will help me to remain obedient and loyal, please don’t ever let my heart become callous. Keep me in a spirit of love, giving, forgiveness, and concern for others. Help me to remain a loving and better husband, father, brother, uncle, friend, and servant to You Almighty God. In Jesus’ mighty and matchless name, Amen!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Teri Allard

    Amen Pastor!

    There are many things that I was taught that continue to shape my life today. I am so grateful that someone loved me enough to share these valuable tools with me. Had they not, I probably wouldn’t be here today.

    I learned to show loyalty and kindness. The only reason I think they stuck with me is because I was able to see the results and benefits of these two virtues. I learned to “treat others how you would want to be treated.” So when I did that, I was able to see how people would respond. When I was loyal and kind to people, most people treated me the same way. It felt good to get it back. It almost felt as good as being blessed by God.

    When I am faithful and obedient, God blesses me–and that feels so good!

    Like

  3. La Wanda

    Thank you PT for The time you you put into the Scriptures to remind us what we need to do , in Christ. The manna helps me go forth in my day with remembrance of how to live my life, that is pleasing to God !

    Like

  4. Michael

    Amen PT!
    The Bible is our guide and teaching on how we should live our lives. The Bible contains many historical figures that went through the same temptations, worries, and trials that we go through today. Through them, God has taught us how to use the resources available to us; prayer, fasting, studying, faith, etc… As proverbs points out, we would be wise to not forget these things that God has taught us.

    I think about the story of the Good Samaritan. He was kind (helping the man on the road) and loyal (promising to come back to pay any additional expenses) towards his fellow man. I pray that God does not harden my heart when it comes to others in need. I want my compassion, loyalty and kindness towards others to be in everything I do.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. LeLe

    I learned early as a child the important responsibility of being kind, and helping others. I watched as my parents were both examples of giving and sharing any and all that they had. At 15 working as a volunteer in a hospital, I felt the call to become a nurse to help heal those who were sick. 26 years later, it is still a great joy to serve others in this way. It is personal and rewarding. I am thankful God has giving me a career in the ministry of helps.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.