Overcoming Temptation

By Pastor Alton Trimble

Manna For Today: Thursday, October 8, 2015

Overcoming Temptation

Today’s scripture reading: Proverbs 5

There are many temptations that confront us daily. Solomon addresses one of the ways in which we can be caught in Satan’s trap.

While he speaks to his son about immoral women, we know that immorality is not gender-specific.

So how do we avoid the trap of the enemy related to immorality? Consider the following observations for avoiding and overcoming temptation:

1. Clothe yourself with God’s presence.

• Set boundaries in your life, heart and mind.

Romans 13:13-14Let us walk properly, as in the day, not in revelry and drunkenness, not in lewdness and lust, not in strife and envy. 14 But put on the Lord Jesus Christ, and make no provision for the flesh, to fulfill its lusts.

2. Take the way out that God makes available in your temptation.

• God always gives you a way out.

I Corinthians 10:12-13Therefore let him who thinks he stands take heed lest he fall. 13 No temptation has overtaken you except such as is common to man; but God is faithful, who will not allow you to be tempted beyond what you are able, but with the temptation will also make the way of escape, that you may be able to bear it.

3. Keep the proper focus.

• What you focus on will influence what you do.

Colossians 3:1-2If then you were raised with Christ, seek those things which are above, where Christ is, sitting at the right hand of God. 2 Set your mind on things above, not on things on the earth.

Apply these principles daily in your life and watch God build in you overcoming capacity.

Peace and blessings!

12 thoughts on “Overcoming Temptation

  1. Teri Allard

    Amen, Pastor Trimble!

    This word is right on time. Everywhere I go there are temptations and it’s a constant battle to block them.

    These are good steps to follow to help me make the right decisions when I am tempted. These scriptures make it very clear what needs to be done. After reading this I can’t make any more excuses for giving in to temptation. This is the support I need to “just say no.”

    Lord, I thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Every day we are tempted and challenged in in way or another. Thanks PT for the reminders of God’s provisions. We can do all things through Jesus Christ who strengthens us! All the Glory belongs to you Oh God! In Jesus name. Amen.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Michael

    Amen!
    All three points are great reminders to help us in the area of temptation. Point number three and Colossians 3 in particular is something I use to help me overcome. When I remind myself that the Spirit dwells within us and that our Lord is everywhere watching, that helps influence what I do and provides the escape from temptation.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Focus, think about, ponder on: that is what you will act on. Per point 3, that’s is why Apostle Paul says in Philipians 4:8 “Finally, brethren, whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is anything praiseworthy meditate on these things.” By thinking on “thing of good report” that is what you will act on contrastly, if you think on negative things that is what you act on. We must pay attention to what we see and hear because that is what you will think about. Thank you Pastor for the Manna for today! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  5. La Wanda

    It’s so good to know that we do have a way out of Temptation when we are in a situation! We have to be on guard all the time knowing that satan comes to devour us, but , God always gives us a way out amen

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Alicia

    Temptation is a very strong force and I thank God that he gives me the strength and the tools to not just walk away, but to RUN from it. Thanking the Lord for giving me a way out and helping me maintain my focus.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. raineawarren

      Great message PT. I Concur! Lately I’ve been tuned in, focusing and be strengthened by the WORD on TBN/DAYSTAR, Wed night Bible studies and reading my Bible more often. Waking up with my mind stayed on Jesus is helping me win the fight…DAILY!!!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. LeLe

    While the devil knows what to use to tempt us, once we have a made up mind of what we will and will not do, it is up to us to resist the devil and know that he will flee. I remind myself of this whenever I am tempted, knowing that I can and will overcome by the power of the Holy Spirit. And that God is faithful and bigger than any temptation the devil can throw my way. I know God will never allow the righteous to be moved. Thank you Lord for your faithfulness.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.