Life Lessons

By Pastor Alton Trimble

Manna For Today: Friday, October 9, 2015

Life Lessons2

Today’s scripture reading: Proverbs 6

Proverbs 6 lays out a number of life lessons we do well to consider and apply in our own lives. It opens with instruction on financial management; in verse 1 through 5 it strongly discourages the practice commonly known as “co-signing” or “suretyship.”

Solomon admonishes us that “if you have trapped yourself by your agreement, swallow your pride and beg to have your name erased.”

Before you panic and run out of the door there are, I believe, some instances where assisting someone may be appropriate.

Paul became bond for Onesimus in Philemon 17-19 [If then you count me as a partner, receive him as you would me. 18 But if he has wronged you or owes anything, put that on my account. 19 I, Paul, am writing with my own hand. I will repay—not to mention to you that you owe me even your own self besides].

The encouragement, I believe, is more toward our being good stewards of God’s favor and blessing in our lives financially.

Solomon moves to a discussion of our work ethics in verse 6 through 11, admonishing us to learn from the Ant who without supervision, “labor hard all summer.”

The Bible is replete with scriptures encouraging our diligence; avoiding the consequence of slothfulness is a goal worthy of our pursuit.

In verse 12 through 15, Solomon paints the portrait of those who are wicked and directs our attention to the end to which they will come. Not only is this what we want to avoid but we must take care not to be around people with the inclination Solomon articulates.

I am particularly struck by Solomon’s discussion of things God hates in verse 16 through 19. Note the following:

1. Haughty eyes

2. Lying tongue

3. Hands that kill the innocent

4. A heart that plots evil

5. Feet that race to do wrong

6. A false witness that pours out lies

7. A person who sows discords in a family

The Bible says God hates these things; hates them!

Take a moment to search your heart and ask God to help you to determine if you are, in any way, participating in these things that God hates. If you are, ask your Father to forgive you and cleanse you from all unrighteousness right now.

Find a mature brother or sister and ask them to help you through prayer and accountability.

Peace and blessings!

5 thoughts on “Life Lessons

  1. Father keep me away from the things You dislike, let all my surety agreements be solid ones and approved by a You. Give me a work ethic that satifies You and remove ever ounce of slothfulness from my body. Make me a better steward of Your favor and resources that You give so generously to me daily. Keep me focused and willing to help others and lead them to You Almighty God, in Jesus’ mighty and matchless name, Amen!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Phillip Bell

    Thank you, Pastor Trimble. I have been helped tremendously by your diligence to share God’s word, so early in the morning. Please, continue to lend your ear to our Lord Jesus, so that we can continue to live out His plan for our lives. May Christ continue to bless you and your family!

    Liked by 3 people

  3. Michael

    Amen.
    Thank you PT for reminding us of these Scriptures. I don’t want to be involved in anything that God hates, so I ask God for His daily guidance to avoid these things.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lord create in me a clean heart and please renew in me a right and steadfast spirit. Help me to have ears that hear from you and a heart to receive your instructions and do things that are pleasing to you and bring you glory. Help my family and friends come to know you and things that please you . In The name of my Lord Jesus.

    Liked by 2 people

Comments are closed.