Correction…Instruction…Increase…

By Pastor Alton Trimble

Manna For Today: Tuesday, October 13, 2015

Correction…Instruction…Increase…

Today’s scripture reading: Proverbs 9

Wisdom is prepared for those who will prepare for it. Wisdom, like most value adding resources, is not automatic but must be discovered, embraced and acquired.

Any attempt to teach the benefits of wisdom to those who have not made its discovery and appreciate its value will be met with certain frustration.

Proverbs 9:7-9 says, “He who corrects a scoffer gets shame for himself, and he who rebukes a wicked man only harms himself. 8 Do not correct a scoffer, lest he hate you; rebuke a wise man, and he will love you. 9 Give instruction to a wise man, and he will be still wiser; teach a just man, and he will increase in learning.”

 The questions we must ask ourselves are:

1. Do I love wise people when they correct me?

2. Does wise instruction multiply in my life?

3. When I’m taught, do I learn even more?

Be honest in your answers to these questions as they may reveal important insight to your relationship with wisdom.

If you find yourself in tension with one or more, ask God to help you humble yourself so that you can receive all that wisdom makes available to those who acquire it.

 Meditate today on James 1:5 [If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask of God, who gives to all liberally and without reproach, and it will be given to him].

Wisdom will embrace its opportunity and promise!

Peace and blessings!

6 thoughts on “Correction…Instruction…Increase…

  1. Teri Allard

    I pray that I can keep an open mind so that I can recognize wisdom when it is presented. I want to be able to take in all wisdom, digest it, then apply it to everyday life when needed. I pray that my pride or attitude does not get in the way of my receiving wisdom from God or any other wise person I may encounter.

    Thank you Pastor Trimble,

    Amen.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Michael

    Amen PT!
    I love one of Pastor’s quotes “if I am the smartest man in the room, then I am in the wrong room.” God, Church leaders, and elders all have much wisdom to impart to us. Part of my daily prayers are always spent asking God for His wisdom in everything I do.

    Liked by 2 people

Comments are closed.