Run to the Name of Jesus!

By Pastor Alton Trimble

Manna For Today; Thursday, October 22, 2015

Run to the Name of Jesus!

Today’s scripture reading: Proverbs 18

Among the many changes in the landscape of American living since the 9/11 horror is a sense of danger from foreign entities that we have never had.

There existed in the United States a false sense of security that as long as we were on American soil we were protected from foreign attacks.

We even thought that no one would dare to attack us with all the resources and power we have; they would be crazy to do so. Well, they were crazy and they did so leaving us with a feeling of vulnerability.

We think differently now in public places; we have a different mindset when boarding a plane. Our lives have been pushed into an entirely different way of thinking.

Yet for the believer, there is another level of thinking that brings a greater sense of security than a pre-9/11 level; and it’s real, not imagined.

II Corinthians 4:7-9 says, “We now have this light shining in our hearts, but we ourselves are like fragile clay jars containing this great treasure. This makes it clear that our great power is from God, not from ourselves. 8 We are pressed on every side by troubles, but we are not crushed. We are perplexed, but not driven to despair. 9 We are hunted down, but never abandoned by God. We get knocked down, but we are not destroyed.”

In other words my friend, the Bible is saying, for every action of the enemy, there is a superior action of God that insulates and protects us so that what would take us out simply can’t do it.

Proverbs 18:10 says, “The name of the LORD is a strong fortress; the godly run to him and are safe.”

Go to your heavenly Father in the name of Jesus. In fact, run to His name daily and find comfort, relief, help and hope. His Name is indeed our refuge!

Peace and blessings!

5 thoughts on “Run to the Name of Jesus!

  1. Phillip Bell

    This reading today is surely needed by all. I thank You, Lord God, for being my refuge.Your protection is ALL that I need in this world. In the name of Jesus, Amen.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jerome

    Thanks PT like the scipture says no weapon formed against us shall prosper and when the enemy comes in like a flood the spirit of the Lord will lift up a standard against it dear onesas believers we are protected

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Teri Allard

    With God in me I can “take a lickin’ and keep on ticking.”

    I’m so glad we have God to run to run to daily to find comfort, relief, help and hope. I’ve tried other things that only disappoint; other people, they only let me down.

    Only God is our refuge, in the name of Jesus.

    Amen.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Michael

    Amen PT!
    Thank God He cares enough to be that fence and hedge of protection around me every day. The enemy is defeated and we have the victory in Jesus.

    Like

  5. Alicia

    God is my only go to source. I’ve tried other sources that just never panned out and just made things much worse. I thank God that I opened my heart and soul and let him take complete control of my life. He is my refuge, He is my All!!!

    Like

Comments are closed.