The Path of Wisdom

By Pastor Alton Trimble

Manna For Today: Friday, October 23, 2015 The Path of Wisdom2 Today’s scripture reading: Proverbs 19

1. Proverbs 19:27If you stop listening to instruction, my child, you will turn your back on knowledge.

• The questions we must ask ourselves are, have we stopped growing? Has our knowledge curve flat-lined? If so, ask God to show you where you need to grow today.

2. Proverbs 19:26Children who mistreat their father or chase away their mother are an embarrassment and a public disgrace.

• Caring for our aging parents is a weighty assignment but let’s not get weary in well doing for our reaping season is just ahead.

3. Proverbs 19:23Fear of the LORD leads to life, bringing security and protection from harm.

• Respecting God and His purpose for your life are the best insurance plan and retirement you can have. Honor God and live.

4. Proverbs 19:22Loyalty makes a person attractive. It is better to be poor than dishonest.

• Beauty is what lies beneath the outward appearance. Loyalty, peace, grace and mercy are attributes of beauty not seen on the surface.

5. Proverbs 19:21You can make many plans, but the LORD’s purpose will prevail.

• The major reason we don’t have to fear the plotting of people against us is because God’s purpose for our lives cannot be thwarted by ill-motivated individuals or groups.

6. Proverbs 19:20Get all the advice and instruction you can, so you will be wise the rest of your life.

• An appetite for knowledge will feed you and your posterity for life.

7. Proverbs 19:17If you help the poor, you are lending to the LORD— and he will repay you!

• God, in His grace, has positioned Himself in our debt when we do acts of mercy for the poor. Allow that to motivate you today toward doing something for someone in need. What a God we serve!

8. Proverbs 19:8To acquire wisdom is to love yourself; people who cherish understanding will prosper.

• Among the many things we do for ourselves, because we love ourselves, wisdom should be at the top of the list. Develop the discipline of seeking it daily in your everyday circumstances.

9. Proverbs 19:3People ruin their lives by their own foolishness and then are angry at the LORD.

• Consider your present course of daily conduct and ask yourself is any part of that foolishness that could lead to my own ruin. If you found something, take it to God and leave it there.

10. Proverbs 19:2Enthusiasm without knowledge is no good; haste makes mistakes.

• Idealism and enthusiasm are associated with haste; the combination of these three will certainly lead to destruction and failure. Optimism with enthusiasm and wisdom is a thing of beauty leading to success and a sense of fulfillment.

Allow the wisdom of God to clear a path for you that will lead you through His plan and purpose for your life. Every now and then it is okay to inquire, “Are we there yet?”

Peace and blessings!

5 thoughts on “The Path of Wisdom

  1. Phillip Bell

    God’s word applied daily continues to illuminate my life and keep me out of darkness. Thanks, Pastor Trimble for your obedient heart. May Christ continue to bless you and the family.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Teri

    It’s so easy to get stuck in a holding pattern in life. I have to motivate myself to listen and get knowledge. And, I know I have to continue to talk to God and ask Him to help me do what is right.

    I will try to harder to get all the advice and instruction I can, so I can be wise the rest of my life.

    I will continue to help the poor.

    I will continue to ask God to help me develop the discipline of seeking wisdom daily in my everyday circumstances.

    I will allow the wisdom of God to clear a path for me that will lead me through His plan and purpose for my life. Sometimes it feels like I need so much from God. I need everything I can get from God.

    Indeed, what a God we serve!

    Thank you Lord for making available all that I’ll ever need.

    Amen.

    Like

  3. raineawarren

    Don’t feel bad about feeling needy, You are not all by yourself! I too need just a little more JESUS to help me along the way! Thank you JESUS for availing your GRACE, MERCY and WISDOM to all of us. We are commanded “through LOVE to serve one another”…and that’s what I plan to DO! Amen.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.